Vol. 48, No. 2 February 2011 .pdf version
Bryan Burwell: Scrimmages shouldn't be a secret
Joe Mitch: USBWA breakfast to include Phi Slama Jama
John Akers: Looking for next Rising Star
Lenox Rawlings: Good sportswriting remains the same
Brian Noubert: Va. Tech closing doors to new media
Four multiple winners writing contest claim firsts
Complete Best Writing Contest results, stories

Four multiple-winners claim firsts in Best Writing Contest

Bookmark and Share

Four writers took first place in one category and placed in another in the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's annual best-writing contest.

John Feinstein took first place in the Game Story/Spot News category for "The Dream is the Same in Division III," a story about the Division III championship game written for the Washington Post. Feinstein also placed second in column writing for "A Ball, A Towel, A Ref's Memorable Gesture."

Send your nomination for the Rising Star Award to John Akers by Feb. 15
Read the winning stories from the annual Best Writing Contest
USBWA member/award programs

John Akers of Basketball Times placed first in Enterprise-Investigative reporting for "Inside the Room: NCAA Tournament Selection Process," a historical look at the evolution of the NCAA Tournament selection process. Akers also placed third in Magazine Length Features.

Luke Winn of si.com and Tom Archdeacon of the Dayton Daily News both grabbed first- and fourth-place finishes.

Winn took first place in Column Writing for "Bob Knight's Tactical Brilliance," which examined Knight the teacher from a newly released set of coaching DVDs. Winn also finished fourth in Magazine Length Features. Archdeacon placed first in Moderate Length Features for "A Legend Returns to the Court of His Youth," a story about former Dayton basketball legend Dwight Anderson. Archdeacon also placed fourth in Column Writing.

Kevin Armstrong of si.com also took first place, in Magazine Length Features, for "The Ubiquitous Basketball Iconocast," on longtime basketball talent scout Tom Konchalski.

Other second-place finishers included Jason King of Yahoo! Sports for Moderate Length Features, Lew Freedman of Basketball Times Online for Enterprise-Investigative, David Teel of the Newport News Daily Press for Magazine Length Features and David Woods of the Indianapolis Star for Game Story/Spot News.

Third-place finishers included Scott Dochterman of the Cedar Rapids Gazette for Enterprise-Investigative, David Jones of the Harrisburg Patriot-News for Column Writing, Ken Davis of Basketball Times Online for Game Story/Spot News and Brett McMurphy of AOL Fanhouse for Moderate Length Features.

The fourth-place winners were Scott Powers of espnchicago.com for Enterprise-Investigative, Mike Waters of the Syracuse Post-Standard for Game Story/Spot News and Paul Klee of illinihq.com for Moderate Length Features.

Fifth-place finishers: Jack Styczynski of nytimes.com for Enterprise-Investigative Reporting, David Krider of Max Prep News for Magazine Length Features, John Clay of the Lexington Herald-Leader for Column Writering, Tom Noie of the South Bend Tribune for Game Story/Spot News and Kathy Orton of the Washington Post for Moderate Length Features.

May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)