Dec. 2, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Three major awards to be presented in Oklahoma City
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today watch lists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, the Integris Wayman Tisdale Award and the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award.

The watch lists include 33 players from 26 schools for the men’s national player of the year (Oscar Robertson Trophy), including three players from Kansas and Kentucky; 18 players from 14 schools for men's national freshman player of the year (Wayman Tisdale Award); and 20 players from 16 schools for women’s national player of the year (Ann Meyers Drysdale Award). The women's list is headlined by two-time winner Breanna Stewart of Connecticut.

All three awards will be presented at the College Basketball Awards gala in Oklahoma City on April 11, 2016, at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. Access Sports, a non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, will serve as host for the gala. Funds from the gala are used to support youth basketball programs in Oklahoma that allow disadvantaged youth the opportunity to participate in leagues and training.

The USBWA, comprised of nearly 1,000 sports journalists covering college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites, will select the recipients of the awards. This will be the first time the women’s college player of the year will be featured at the gala.

Here are the watch lists:

Oscar Robertson Trophy (Men's National Player of the Year)
Grayson Allen, Duke
Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova
Ron Baker, Wichita State
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Kyle Collinsworth, BYU
Kellen Dunham, Butler
Kris Dunn, Providence
Perry Ellis, Kansas
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Michael Gbinije, Syracuse
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame
Damian Jones, Vanderbilt
Skal Labissiere, Kentucky
Caris LeVert, Michigan
Frank Mason III, Kansas
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Monte Morris, Iowa State
Jamal Murray, Kentucky
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
Gary Payton II, Oregon State
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Domantas Sabonis, Gonzaga
Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas
Ben Simmons, LSU
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State
Tyrone Wallace, California
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Wayman Tisdale Award (Men's National Freshman Player of the Year)
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
Malik Beasley, Florida State
Isaiah Briscoe, Kentucky
Jaylen Brown, California
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Cheick Diallo, Kansas
Tyler Dorsey, Oregon
Henry Ellenson, Marquette
Brandon Ingram, Duke
Skal Labissiere, Kentucky
Tyler Lydon, Syracuse
Jamal Murray, Kentucky
Ivan Rabb, California
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse
Ben Simmons, LSU
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
Allonzo Trier, Arizona
Stephen Zimmerman, UNLV
Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Women's National Player of the Year

Jillian Alleyne, Oregon
Nia Davis, Baylor
Nia Coffey, Northwestern
Kahleah Copper, Rutgers
Diamond DeShields, Tennessee
Rebecca Greenwell, Duke
Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut
Jonquel Jones, George Washington
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Maryland
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State

Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Leticia Romero, Florida State
Azura Stevens, Duke
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut
Morgan Tuck, Connecticut
Brianna Turner, Notre Dame
Victoria Vivens, Mississippi State
Courtney Williams, Texas A&M
Courtney Williams, South Florida
A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 1,000 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

Related links:
Oscar Robertson Trophy
Integris Wayman Tisdale Award
Ann Meyers Drysdale Award