Dec. 16, 2014
For Immediate Release
Contact: John Kean
Association now recognizing Div. II players
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) Tyler Kelly of Florida Southern College (Lakeland, Fla.) and Abby Kirchoff of Colorado-Colorado Springs were named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Division II National Players of the Week for the week ending Dec. 14.

Kelly, a 6-2 senior guard from Pickerington, Ohio, led Florida Southern to victories last week over Southern Indiana and No. 2-ranked Bellarmine, averaging 20.0 points, 7.5 rebounds, 3.0 assists, and 2.0 steals per game. With the weekend sweep of games at the Bellarmine Classic, FSC is now 8-0 on the season, and the Moccasins moved up to No. 2 in this week's NABC/Division II men's basketball national rankings.

Kelly posted his first career double-double in FSC's 101-96 non-conference win on the road over then-No. 2 Bellarmine, scoring 19 points with 10 rebounds along with a block and two steals to help Florida Southern post its third win this season over a nationally-ranked opponent. A day earlier, he scored a career-high 21 points while hitting four-of-eight three-pointers, and he added five rebounds, five assists, and two steals in the Mocs' 91-80 win over Southern Indiana. With the victories, Florida Southern has now won 27 consecutive regular season non-conference games.

Kirchoff, a 5-11 senior guard from Barrington, Ill., was named the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Week for the second straight week after she broke the UCCS single-game scoring record last Saturday. Kirchoff averaged 32.5 points per game, while shooting 52.5 percent from the field in two games for the Mountain Lions last weekend. She was also 16-for-16 at the free throw line.

Kirchoff scored 26 points and recorded four assists and six rebounds in an 85-58 win against Metro State on Friday and followed that with a program-record 39-point performance against Regis, while also contributing three assists and two steals in a 92-89 loss to the Rangers.

Kirchoff leads the RMAC with 22.8 points per game and is second in the conference with 92.6 free throw percentage, 3.0 three-pointers per game and 46.2 three-point percentage. UCCS is 8-2 overall, including 3-1 in the RMAC.

Each Tuesday, the USBWA is selecting men's and women's Division II National Players of the Week. This is the first season that the USBWA will recognize national players of the week from Division II.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

2014-15 USBWA Division II National Players of the Week
Week ending Dec. 7: Derrick White, Colorado-Colorado Springs and Sarah Nelson, Dominican
Week ending Dec. 14: Tyler Kelly, Florida Southern and Abby Kirchoff, Colorado-Colorado Springs
Week ending Jan. 4: Eric Anderson, New Haven and Shareta Brown, Wayne State
Week ending Jan. 11: Gerald Beverly, Daemen College and Natalie Piaggesi, Mercyhurst
Week ending Jan. 18: Joe Lawson, Indianapolis and Morgan Pullins, St. Mary's (Texas)
Week ending Jan. 25: Alex Herrera, Fort Lewis College and Taylor Beverly, West Georgia
Week ending Feb. 1: Derrick White, Colorado-Colorado Springs and Nettie Blake, Gannon University
Week ending Feb. 8: Darian Hooker, NYIT and Shareta Brown, Wayne State
Week ending Feb. 15: Garret Kerr, University of the Sciences and Schontiquah White, West Texas A&M
Week ending Feb. 22: Nick Harney, Fairmont State and Amy Philamlee, Union (Tenn.)