April 17, 2012
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Three major awards to be presented at gala in 2013
Bookmark and Share  

OKLAHOMA CITY (USBWA) Access Sports, an Oklahoma City-based not-for-profit foundation, and the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) have announced the major awards selected and presented by the two groups will be awarded annually at a gala in Oklahoma City beginning in 2013. The announcement was made Monday evening at the 2012 Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Awards gala.

The presentation of the Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy, the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, and the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award presented by Devon, will be combined in a college basketball gala to be held the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four each year. The USBWA has traditionally presented the Robertson and Iba awards at its Champions Breakfast annually at the Final Four. Access Sports currently presents the Tisdale Award in Oklahoma City.

"We have had a very good relationship with USBWA and this new arrangement will expand on that relationship and allow Oklahoma City to literally become the center of men's college basketball for one night each year," said Scott Hill, executive director of Access Sports. "Having the best freshman, best overall player, and best coach in a room all at one time will represent a very meaningful night for college basketball in general and for Oklahoma and our city in particular."

All three awards will continue to be selected by the members of the USBWA and Access Sports will serve as the host for the gala. The 2012 event honored Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis as the Tisdale Freshman of the Year and Duke Coach Mike Krzyzewski as the Tisdale Humanitarian selection.

Funds raised through the gala are used to support a number of charitable activities, including youth basketball programs in Oklahoma that allow disadvantaged youth the opportunity to participate in leagues and training. The gala will also help support the educational activities of the USBWA, including its journalism scholarship program. "We are pleased to expand our partnership with Access Sports," said John Akers, USBWA president. "By combining all the awards, we really bring the national focus – as it relates to college basketball – to this one event."

About Access Sports
Access Sports is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization an Oklahoma City-based 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, including funding prosthetic devices for needy individuals through the Wayman L. Tisdale Foundation, educational scholarships through the United States Basketball Writers Associations, and funding of youth basketball programs throughout the state of Oklahoma through the Wayman's Lightning Basketball League. More information is available at access-sports.net.

About the United States Basketball Writers Association
Formed in 1956, The U.S. Basketball Writers Association is comprised of nearly 1,000 sports journalists who cover college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites. More information can be found at usbwa.com.