Feb. 17, 2010
For Immediate Release
Contact: Joe Mitch
Player of the Year Award to be presented at Final Four in Indianapolis Bookmark and Share

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has announced finalists for the 2010 Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the association's national player of the year.

Oscar Robertson TrophyA trio of returning finalists Kansas' Sherron Collins, Notre Dame's Luke Harangody and Ohio State's Evan Turner are among the 16 players selected to appear on the ballot. The nation's top two ranked teams are well represented. Joining Collins from the top-ranked Jayhawks is teammate Cole Aldrich. Also, among the finalists is a pair of freshman teammates from No. 2 Kentucky, DeMarcus Cousins and John Wall.

The presentation of this year's award will take place on Friday, April 2 at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at the Columbia Club in Indianapolis in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four. The breakfast will also honor the winner of the Henry Iba Award, the association's coach of the year.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 900 journalists. The ballot will be distributed to the membership on Mon., March 1.

The following players are finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy:

Pos. No. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F 45 Cole Aldrich, Kansas 6-11 245 Jr. Bloomington, Minn.
G 23 James Anderson, Oklahoma State 6-6 210 Jr. Junction City, Ark.
G 4 Sherron Collins, Kansas 5-11 205 Sr. Chicago, Ill.
F 15 DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky 6-11 260 Fr. Mobile, Ala.
G 2 Devan Downey, South Carolina 5-9 170 Sr. Chester, S.C.
G 32 Jimmer Fredette, BYU 6-2 195 Jr. Glens Falls, N.Y.
F 44 Luke Harangody, Notre Dame 6-8 246 Sr. Schererville, Ind.
F 4 Robbie Hummel, Purdue 6-8 208 Jr. Valparaiso, Ind.
G/F 5 Damion James, Texas 6-7 225 Sr. Nacogdoches, Texas
F 4 Wesley Johnson, Syracuse 6-7 205 Jr. Corsicana, Texas
G 20 Dominique Jones, South Florida 6-4 215 Jr. Lake Wales, Fla.
C 10 Greg Monroe, Georgetown 6-11 247 So. New Orleans, La.
G 1 Scottie Reynolds, Villanova 6-2 190 Sr. Herndon, Va.
G 30 Jon Scheyer, Duke 6-5 190 Sr. Northbrook, Ill.
G/F 21 Evan Turner, Ohio State 6-7 205 So. Chicago, Ill.
G 11 John Wall, Kentucky 6-4 195 Fr. Raleigh, N.C.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA's Player of the Year. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its awards, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.

Related links:
Oscar Robertson Trophy