Thu., March 30: The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced the winners of its three major women's awards Friday at the site of this weekend's Final Four. All three winners hail from the Southeastern Conference. A'ja Wilson of South Carolina is the winner of the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award as the National Player of the Year. Vic Schaefer of Mississippi State earned the National Coach of the Year Award, and Chennedy Carter of Texas A&M is the National Freshman of the Year, based on voting by the USBWA membership. USBWA representative Mel Greenberg made the presentations.
Complete release | All-time USBWA women's honors

Tues, Oct. 16: Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy, who is recognized as much for his charity work and community service off the court as he is for his success on the court, has been named the recipient of the 2018 Dean Smith Award by the USBWA, it was announced today by USBWA President David Teel of the Newport News Daily Press. The award will be presented to Dunphy on Nov. 1 at the Coaches vs. Cancer Tip-Off luncheon at the Hilton City Avenue in Philadelphia featuring the Philly 6 coaches.
Complete release | USBWA's Mitch to retire | Teel: Mitch will be USBWA's toughest act to follow
Villanova's Brunson wins Oscar Robertson Trophy | More on the Oscar Robertson Trophy
Men's All-America Team | Women's All-America Team > All-time USBWA All-Americans: Men | Women
Virginia's Bennett wins third Henry Iba Award | USBWA unveils 2017-18 All-District honors
Online Membership Application | Online directory (for current members)
Credentialing Application | Durando, Golden awarded USBWA scholarships
NCAA memo: Best practices for media access, seating and security
David Teel: Rarely does The Tipoff break news.
Joe Mitch: It is with sadness and joy, too that
I am announcing my retirement from the USBWA.
Courage Award: Some things are more important than even the pursuit of the national title.