April 21, 2015
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ben Taylor
.pdf version
ACC, SoCon each boast four closers among 39 chosen
Bookmark and Share

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. (NCBWA) Thirty-nine players have been named to the midseason watch list for the 11th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, the association announced Tuesday.

George Washington sophomore Eddie Muhl, the nation's saves leader with 14, highlights the 2015 midseason watch list, while Nevada junior Adam Whitt has 13 and five players have 12 saves with four weeks left in the regular season. Rider senior Eric Thomas and Louisville sophomore Zack Burdi have 0.00 ERAs, while Texas Tech senior Corey Taylor has a 0.36 ERA in 50 innings across 17 appearances, the best ERA in the nation among players with at least one inning pitched per team game.

Muhl has a 0.47 ERA in 19.1 innings over 18 appearances, striking out 17 and walking only four. Whitt holds a 0.99 ERA in 27.1 innings of work across 20 appearances, with 33 strikeouts and only four walks.

Illinois' Tyler Jay averages a watch list-best 2.0 innings pitched per appearance, notching eight saves and holding a 5-1 record with a 0.71 ERA, 43 strikeouts and three walks in 38 innings over 19 appearances. UCLA's David Berg, the 2013 Stopper of the Year, is 4-0 with eight saves and a 0.98 ERA in 36.2 innings over 25 appearances, also striking out 43 and walking three.

The Atlantic Coast and Southern Conferences lead the way with four members of the midseason watch list apiece, while four conferences the Big 12, Pac-12, SEC and West Coast Conferences each have three nominees.

David Berg UCLA Sr.
David Bigelow Gonzaga Sr.
Tim Black Central Michigan Sr.
Nolan Blackwood Memphis So.
Chris Brown Georgia Southern Jr.
Zack Burdi Louisville So.
Ryan Burr Arizona State Jr.
J.D. Busfield Loyola Marymount So.
Matt Dennis Bradley So.
Taylor Edens VMI Jr.
Riley Ferrell TCU Jr.
Bryan Garcia Miami (Fla.) So.
Andres Gracia Samford Sr.
Ian Hamilton Washington State So.
Stuart Holmes Nicholls State Sr.
Skylar Hunter The Citadel Jr.
Tyler Jay Illinois Jr.
Reece Karalus Santa Clara So.
Colin Kober McNeese State So.
Ryan Meisinger Radford Jr.
Ryan Milton Southern Miss Sr.
Eddie Muhl George Washington So.
Tyler Peitzmeier Cal State Fullerton Sr.
Tommy Peterson South Florida So.
Josh Roeder Nebraska Sr.
C.J. Saylor San Diego State So.
Josh Sborz Virginia Jr.
Jesse Stallings LSU Fr.
Will Stillman Wofford Jr.
Travis Stout Jacksonville State Sr.
Billy Strode Florida State Sr.
Corey Taylor Texas Tech Sr.
Eric Thomas Rider Sr.
Colin Tornberg UT-Arlington Sr.
Stephen Villines Kansas So.
Adam Whitt Nevada Jr.
Taylor Widener South Carolina So.
Breckin Williams Missouri Jr.
Bryan Young Missouri State So.

The NCBWA will announce five finalists for the 2015 Stopper of the Year the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts on Wednesday, June 3, prior to the start of NCAA Super Regional competition. The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2015 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. The Longhorns' Corey Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. UCLA's Berg was crowned the winner in 2013, while Louisville's Nick Burdi took home the 2014 honor.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

2015 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
Wed., April 21: Midseason Watch List
Tues., June 3: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
Sat., June 13: Stopper of the Year winner announced