April 23, 2014
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jason Leturmy
SEC boasts seven closers among 50 chosen
Bookmark and Share

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (NCBWA) Fifty players have been named to the mid-season watch list for the 10th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, as announced by the association on Wednesday.

The national saves leader, Sam Moore of UC Irvine, highlights this year's mid-season list which consists of players from 21 difference conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with seven players on the list followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference and Big West Conference with four nominees apiece. The Big 12, Ohio Valley, Pac-12, Southern and West Coast Conferences each have three pitchers on the mid-season watch list.

In 18 appearances this season, Moore has registered 16 saves in 30.2 innings of work with 28 strikeouts and a 1.17 ERA. UCLA's David Berg, the 2013 Stopper of the Year Award winner, is also on the list as the junior right hander is 3-1 with nine saves and a 1.63 ERA in 38.2 innings of work. Three pitchers on the mid-season list including Louisville's Nick Burdi, Stanford's A.J. Vanegas and Samford's Andres Gracia have all posted a 0.00 ERA with five weeks remaining in the regular season.

David Berg UCLA Jr.
Greg Brody Belmont Jr.
Joe Broussard LSU Jr.
Nick Burdi Louisville Jr.
Thomas Burrows Alabama Fr.
Matt Campbell Clemson Sr.
Michael Cederoth San Diego State Jr.
Andy Cox Tennessee So.
Jacob Cronenworth Michigan So.
Bret Dahlson Loyola Marymount Sr.
Eric Dorsch Kent State R-Jr.
Matt Eckelman Saint Louis So.
Riley Ferrell TCU So.
Aaron Fossas Wake Forest R-So.
Carson Fulmer Vanderbilt Jr.
Bryan Garcia Miami, Florida Fr.
Andres Gracia Samford Jr.
Michael Gunn Arkansas Jr.
Chase Henry College of Charleston Jr.
Zach Hirsch Nebraska Sr.
Nick Howard Virginia Jr.
Reece Karalus Santa Clara So.
Eric Karch Pepperdine Sr.
Ryan Keaffaber Indiana State Fr.
Mason Klotz Southeastern Louisiana R-So.
Brandon Koch Dallas Baptist So.
Jacob Lindgren Mississippi State Jr.
Seth Lucio Tennessee Tech Jr.
Justin McCalvin Kennesaw State Jr.
Brendan McCurry Oklahoma State Sr.
Sutter McLoughlin Sacramento State So.
Josh Michalec Baylor Sr.
Sam Moore UC Irvine Jr.
Ryan Pennell Elon Sr.
Ashton Perritt Liberty Jr.
Jake Reed Oregon Jr.
Reed Reilly Cal Poly Jr.
Jason Richman Georgia Southern So.
Jordan Romano Oral Roberts Jr.
Bradley Roney Southern Miss Jr.
Victor Sanchez New Mexico So.
Joel Seddon South Carolina Jr.
Zach Stone UC Davis Fr.
Travis Stout Jacksonville State Jr.
Dillon Tate UC Santa Barbara So.
Ryan Thompson Campbell Sr.
Ian Tompkins Western Kentucky Jr.
A.J. Vanegas Stanford Sr.
Chase Wellbrock Houston Sr.
Ryan Williams East Carolina Sr.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 4, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2014 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. Berg of UCLA was crowned the winner in 2013.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

2014 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
Tues., Feb. 11: Preseason Watch List
Wed., April 23: Midseason Watch List
Thu., June 5: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
Sat., June 14: Stopper of the Year winner announced