

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION (June 15, 2013)

Contact: Judy Willson (jwillson@themwc.com or 719-488-4052)

NCBWA First Vice President/Associate Director of Communications, Mountain West

UCLA'S BERG NAMED 2013 NCBWA STOPPER OF THE YEAR

OMAHA, Neb. (NCBWA) --- UCLA relief pitcher **David Berg** is the 2013 recipient of the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association's Stopper of the Year Award, the NCBWA announced Saturday prior of the beginning of the College World Series.

Berg, the 2013 Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year, has posted a record of 7-0 with 21 saves while currently leading the nation in ERA with a 0.88 mark. Berg's 21 saves are also a new UCLA single-season record and rank tied for second in all of Division I baseball, two shy of tying the single-season NCAA Division I record. In addition, he is second in the country in WHIP (walks and hits per innings pitched) with a mark of 0.80 and has allowed the second-lowest opposing batting average (.194) in the conference.

The sophomore from Covina, Calif., has also given up fewest runs (7) and walks (8) in the Pac-12, while appearing in the most games in the conference (46). At one point this season, the first team All-American did not allow a run in 37 consecutive innings, which was the longest consecutive scoreless innings streak in the nation this season. In the postseason this year, Berg has recorded three saves while finishing all five of UCLA's NCAA postseason games.

The right-hander has helped UCLA post a current 44-17 overall record and a 21-9 record in the Pac-12 Conference. The Bruins will face LSU in the first round of the NCAA College World Series on Sunday, June 16.

This year's finalists included **Tyler Rogers** of Austin Peay along with **Jonathan Holder** of Mississippi State, **Michael Lorenzen** of Cal State Fullerton, and **Jimmie Sherfy** of Oregon.

More than 90 of the nation's top collegiate relief pitchers were included in the selection process for this year's NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award, beginning with initial preseason nominations by baseball contacts at NCAA Division I schools.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced Saturday morning, June 15, at a news conference at TD Ameritrade Park at 10 a.m. CT.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin took the honor in 2010. Corey Knebel of Texas won in 2011, with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

-- www.NCBWA.com --