April 23, 2013
For Immediate Release
Contact: Judy Willson
.pdf version
SEC boasts eight closers among 51 chosen
Bookmark and Share

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (NCBWA) – Fifty-one players have been named to the mid-season watch list for the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, as announced by the association on Tuesday.

National saves leader Tyler Rogers, a senior from Austin Peay, Oregon junior Jimmie Sherfy, a 2012 Stopper of the Year Award finalist, and Cal State Fullerton junior Michael Lorenzen lead the list with six weeks remaining in the regular season. Rogers has 14 saves as of April 22.

Sherfy and Lorenzen, along with Florida Atlantic senior Hugh Adams, Jacksonville State sophomore Travis Stout, Mississippi State sophomore Jonathan Holder and South Carolina senior Tyler Webb, have 12 saves each.

The Southeastern Conference leads the way with eight players each on this year's mid-season list, while the Atlantic Coast, Pacific-12, Ohio Valley and Southern Conferences have four pitchers each on the list.

Hugh Adams Florida Atlantic Sr.
Kyle Bartsch South Alabama Sr.
David Berg UCLA So.
Robby Coles Florida State Jr.
Ryan Connolly Coastal Carolina Sr.
Chris Cotton LSU Sr.
Kyle Crockett Virginia Jr.
Jordan Dailey Bethune-Cookman Sr.
Josh Davis Belmont Sr.
Trace Dempsey Ohio State So.
Bubba Derby San Diego State Fr.
Jacob Dorris Texas A&M-Corpus Christi So.
Jacob Evans Oklahoma Fr.
Eric Eck Wofford Jr.
Michael Fain Nevada Fr.
Trevor Frank UC Riverside Sr.
Ian Gibaut Tulane Fr.
Ronnie Glenn Penn So.
Trevor Gott Kentucky Jr.
Gavin Guarrera North Carolina Central Sr.
Preston Hatcher Western Carolina Sr.
Matt Hicks Louisiana Jr.
Dylan Hills Southeastern Louisiana Jr.
Jonathan Holder Mississippi State So.
Brett Huber Ole Miss Sr.
Skylar Hunter The Citadel Fr.
Andrew Istler Duke So.
Jason Jester Texas A&M Jr.
Corey Knebel Texas Jr.
Zech Lemond Rice So.
Michael Lorenzen Cal State Fullerton Jr.
Seth Lucio Tennessee Tech So.
Johnny Magliozzi Florida So.
Zach Mawson Rider So.
Sutter McLoughlin Sacramento State Fr.
Brian Miller Vanderbilt So.
Eric Nedeljkovic Miami (Fla.) Sr.
Jordan Piché Kansas Jr.
Reed Reilly Cal Poly So.
Tyler Rogers Austin Peay Sr.
Scott Schultz Oregon State Jr.
Jimmie Sherfy Oregon Jr.
Dan Slania Notre Dame Jr.
Travis Stout Jacksonville State So.
Michael Swanner Pepperdine Jr.
Ryan Thompson Campbell Jr.
Mathew Troupe Arizona So.
Jonathan Van Eaton Memphis Jr.
Tyler Webb South Carolina Sr.
Eric Yardley Seattle Sr.
Nate Young Elon Sr.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations
contacts. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching
standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2013 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the
honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia’s Joshua Fields topped the field in
2008, San Diego State’s Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas’ Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010.
Texas' Corey Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. Knebel is on the 2013 watch list.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

For more information on the NCBWA Stopper of the Year, contact Judy Willson at the Mountain West Conference at 719-488-4052 or Russ Anderson at Conference USA at 214-774-1300.

2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
Thurs., Feb. 7: Preseason Watch List
Tues., April 23: Midseason Watch List
Wed., June 5: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
Sat., June 15: NCBWA Stopper of the Year announced (Omaha, Neb.)