NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION



<u>(May 16, 2013)</u> ncbwa.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Mike Montoro, Bo Carter

NCBWA ANNOUNCES DICK HOWSER TROPHY SEMIFINALISTS

DALLAS - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has released the list of semifinalists for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 27th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 6. The 2013 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the third year. The winner will be unveiled on Saturday, June 15 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2013 CWS.

The candidates hail from 17 different conferences and 31 different schools. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with 10 semifinalists, followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference with six, Pac-12 five and the Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Colonial Athletic Association, Southern with two. Every position on the diamond is represented, including seven starting pitchers, five first basemen, five shortstops, four catchers, four third basemen, four outfielders, four relief pitchers, three second basemen, two designated hitters and two utility players, among this diversified group.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979, after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

"The Dick Howser Trophy was founded shortly after his death by a few friends of Dick's in the St. Petersburg Area who played, coached and worked with him," said David Feaster of the Howser Trophy Committee. "All knew him personally and were aware of him as a tremendous player, coach and friend. The award was initially awarded at the Governors Baseball Dinner held each spring in St. Petersburg to welcome Spring Training to Fla. and as time progressed, we moved the presentation to Omaha, the center of college baseball, during the World Series. I have been involved with the award for over 20 years and have loved every minute of my involvement. I have had the opportunity to meet some great college players as well as some great young men. I am so proud of the Character quality we have in our award, which makes it unique. I am also proud of our selection process by the NCBWA which is the most democratic of any award and provides a true national scope.

"The Dick Howser trophy is now 27 years old and growing stronger," added Feaster. "It is a true testimony to Dick Howser's ability as a player, coach and gentlemen. I am proud to be associated with it."

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011 and Mike Zunino, C, Florida in 2012.

2013 DICK HOWSER TROPHY SEMIFINALISTS

Pos. Name, School

Mark Appel, SP, Stanford Aaron Attaway, SS, Western Carolina Nick Backlund, DH, Mercer Michael Bass, 2B, UNC Wilmington Tyler Beede, SP, Vanderbilt Aaron Berg, RP, UCLA Alex Bregman, SS, LSU Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego Danny Collins, OF, Troy L.B. Dantzler, 1B, South Carolina Brandon Dixon, 3B, Arizona Hunter Dozier, SS, Stephen F. Austin Kent Emmanuel, SP, North Carolina Zane Evans, C, Georgia Tech Brent Graham, SS, Campbell Jonathan Gray, SP, Oklahoma C.K. Irby, Utility, Samford Mason Katz, 1B, LSU Ryan Kellogg, SP, Arizona State Tony Kemp, 2B, Vanderbilt Michael Lorenzen, Utility, Cal State Fullerton L.J. Mazzilli, 2B, Connecticut Kyle McGowin, SP, Savannah State Brian Miller, RP. Vanderbilt Colin Moran, 3B, North Carolina Aaron Nola, SP, LSU Matt Oberste, DH, Oklahoma Daniel Palka, OF, Georgia Tech Justin Parr, OF, Illinois D.J. Peterson, 1B. New Mexico Hunter Renfro, OF, Mississippi State Tanner Rust, C, New Mexico State Jimmie Scherfy, RP, Oregon Kyle Schwarber, C, Indiana Cody Stubbs, 1B, North Carolina Stewart Turner, C, Ole Miss Trea Turner, SS, NC State Tyler Webb, RP, South Carolina Jimmy Yezzo, 1B, Delaware Ty Young, 3B, Louisville