Dec. 17, 2012
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russ Anderson
Bomberger takes over for Cutler as association president

IRVING, Texas (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its list of 2013 officers today, as approved by the organization's executive board. These officers begin their duties immediately and will serve in these roles through the 2013 College World Series.

The new president is Ryan Bomberger, longtime baseball contact for Liberty University and member of the NCBWA Board for the past six years. Bomberger has coordinated the NCBWA's Freshman All-American process for the past three years in addition to assisting with the organization's pre- and postseason All-American nominations and other organizational duties. Bomberger succeeds 2012 President Tami Cutler of Wichita State.

Judy Willson of the Mountain West Conference moves from second to first vice president, while Jason Leturmy of Florida State advances from third to second vice president.

Willson will coordinate the NCBWA Stopper of the Year nominations and voting process for 2013 as well as assisting with the organization's All-America process. Leturmy will continue to work with the NCBWA pre- and postseason All-America teams and will coordinate the NCBWA Coach of the Year award process.

Ben Taylor of Illinois takes over as third vice president. He has served previously on the NCBWA Board of Directors for two years and will now move into the officer rotation and coordinate of the prestigious Wilbur Snypp Award as well as the NCBWA Division I All-District teams.

Bo Carter of Texas Woman's University begins his 13th year as executive director, while Russ Anderson, assistant commissioner of Conference USA, starts his eighth year as associate executive director. West Virginia director of football communications Mike Montoro is opening his eighth year as assistant executive director. All three are past presidents, board members and recipients of the NCBWA Wilbur Snypp Award. In addition, Anderson has served one of the longest tenures as an officer in NCBWA history with 16 years as secretary/treasurer of the organization.

For the eighth year in succession, nationally noted media relations directors Bob McComas (Division II) and Steve Marovich (Division III) serve very capably as divisional coordinators for the NCBWA.

The 2013 Board of Directors offers tremendous mix of geographical diversity and baseball knowledge. East Carolina's Malcolm Gray (coordinator of the annual NCBWA Directory) returns, along with Florida's John Hines, Houston's Jeff Conrad, Old Dominion's Carol Hudson and newest Board member Ryan Powell of North Dakota. All Board members assist with the organization's awards programs.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, the Stopper of the Year Award, publication and writing contests.

Additionally, the organization maintains a website at and can be followed on Twitter at @NCBWA. For membership, send annual dues ($25), along with mailing address, phone, fax and e-mail address information to Russell Anderson, NCBWA Associate Executive Director, c/o Conference USA, 5201 No. O'Connor Blvd., Suite 300, Irving, TX 75309.

Related link:
2012-13 NCBWA Officers