Dec. 16, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
43 schools in 19 conferences represented on three teams

STARKVILLE, Miss. (NCBWA) - While the Olympics and other international baseball events dominated much of the 2008 baseball scene, the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Pro-Line Athletic pre-2009 All-America Team features many of the standouts from the various "dream" teams.

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.First team pitcher Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State was prominent on the mound staffs of both the U.S. Olympic team (composed mainly of top professional baseball stalwarts) as well as the U.S. National Team, which finished 24-0 and set a national team summer earned run average of 1.87.

Fresno State first baseman Alan Ahmady of both the Bulldogs' 2008 NCAA-winning edition and Team USA earned second team All-America laurels on teams loaded with the top projected collegiate talent for '09. While pitching numbers reflect the depth and star power of 2009 college competition, all three units are composed of teams which could make runs at NCAA regional and national crowns.

There are 19 conferences and 43 different schools (most in the nine-year annals of NCBWA preseason All-America choices) represented among the selections by the NCBWA preseason All-America committee, and, as the coaches often say, the difference may be pitching.

Besides Olympian Strasburg (8-3, 1.57 ERA, 133 SO in 97-plus innings), standout returnee Chris Hernandez (11-0, 2.72 ERA, 117 SO in just over 112 frames) of Miami (Fla.)'s NCAA World Series entry and Alex White (13-3, 2.83 ERA) from North Carolina's 2008 CWS squad join Oklahoma State's Tyler Lyons (12-2, 3.31 ERA), Missouri State's Tim Clubb (11-0, 2.52 ERA) and Jacksonville State's (10-2, 3.87 ERA) as starters on the NCBWA initial “dream team.” Relief standouts A.J. Griffin (1.96 ERA, 14 saves) of San Diego and Eric Pettis (2.21 ERA, 17 saves) of UC Irvine compliment 2008 postseason NCBWA second team All-America closer Scott Bittle (7-1, 1.78 ERA, 8 saves) of Mississippi in a splendid first team bullpen.

The remainder of the NCBWA top unit is composed of several returning conference Players of the Year, youngsters who carried teams to Omaha in '08 and a sound array of power hitters.

Indiana catcher Josh Phegley brings back a Big Ten Conference-topping .438 batting average along with 15 homers and 80 RBI in 61 contests. North Carolina 1B Dustin Ackley also sizzled with a .417 batting average (tops among Atlantic Coast Conference returnees for '09), 116 hits, 21 doubles, seven homers, 51 RBI, and 19 stolen bases in 25 attempts while batting in the leadoff spot (a rarity for first sackers on any level). 2B Brandon Sizemore of College of Charleston led all second basemen nationally in 2007 with 20 homers and 82 RBI and adds major wallop in the infield. Shortstop belongs to Miami Hurricane Ryan Jackson with a .360 average and 50 RBI for the NCAA World Series qualifier while the first team third baseman is Louisville's Chris Dominguez with impressive .365-21 HR-75 RBI numbers from 2007.

Rounding out the multi-talent-blessed top squad are Southland Conference Player of the Year OF Michael Rockett (.360- 10 HR-68 RBI) of UT-San Antonio, Arizona State OF Jason Kipnis (.371-14-73, 24 SB in 28 tries), Tennessee OF Kentrail Davis of 2008 Team USA, designated hitter Chad Cregar (.360-21-82) of Western Kentucky, and another Arizona State multi-purpose standout in utility player Mike Leake (11-3 as a pitcher, 3.49 ERA, .340 batting average). Many of these preseason standouts will be nominated for the 23nd annual Dick Howser Trophy, presented by the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Area chamber of Commerce and voted upon by the NCBWA membership. The Howser Trophy will be awarded on Saturday, June 13, 2009 prior to Game One of the NCAA World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Josh Phegley Indiana 5-11 215 Jr. Terre Haute, Ind.
1B Dustin Ackley North Carolina 6-1 184 Jr. Walnut Cove, N.C.
2B Brandon Sizemore College of Charleston 5-10 200 Sr. Jacksonville, Fla.
3B Chris Dominguez Louisville 6-4 240 Jr. Miami, Fla.
SS Ryan Jackson Miami (Fla.) 6-3 180 Jr. Miami Springs, Fla.
UT Mike Leake Arizona State 6-0 180 Jr. Fallbrook, Calif.
DH Chad Cregar Western Kentucky 6-3 221 Sr. Oxford, Miss.
OF Kentrail Davis Tennessee 5-9 200 So. Theodore, Ala.
OF Jason Kipnis Arizona State 6-0 180 Jr. Northbrook, Ill.
OF Michael Rockett UT-San Antonio 6-1 180 Sr. Sugar Land, Texas
SP Tim Clubb Missouri State 6-2 190 Jr. Eureka, Mo.
SP Chris Hernandez Miami (Fla.) 6-1 195 So. Miami, Fla.
SP Tyler Lyons Oklahoma State 6-2 195 Jr. Lubbock, Texas
SP Stephen Strasburg San Diego State 6-4 220 Jr. San Diego, Calif.
SP Ben Tootle Jacksonville State 6-1 185 Jr. Oxford, Ala.
SP Alex White North Carolina 6-3 193 Jr. Greenville, N.C.
RP Scott Bittle Mississippi 6-2 195 Sr. Texarkana, Texas
RP A.J. Griffin San Diego 6-5 215 Jr. El Cajon, Calif.
RP Eric Pettis UC Irvine 6-2 195 Jr. West Hills, Calif.
Second Team: C Bryce Massanari, Georgia, Sr.; 1B Alan Ahmady, Fresno State, Jr.; 2B Jed Gyorko, West Virginia, So.; 3B Bennett Davis, Elon, Sr.; SS (tie) Grant Green, USC, Jr.; SS Josh Rutledge, Alabama, So.; OF Nate Lape, Marshall, Sr.; OF Matt den Dekker, Florida, Jr.; OF Cory Harrilchak, Elon, Sr.; DH Ben Carlson, Missouri State, Jr.; UT Brandon May, Alabama, Jr.; SP Christian Bergman, UC Irvine, Jr.; SP Shane Davis, Canisius, So.; SP Chris Fetter, Michigan, Sr.; SP Seth Maness, East Carolina, So.; SP Justin Marks, Louisville, Jr.; SP Mike Minor, Vanderbilt, Jr.; RP Kyle Bellamy, Miami (Fla.), Jr.; RP Nick Gaudi, Pepperdine, Sr.; RP Jimmy Gilheeney, N.C. State, Jr.
Third Team: C Griffin Benedict, Georgia Southern, Sr.; 1B David Anderson, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; 2B Ben Soignier, Louisiana-Monroe, Sr.; 3B Stuart Tapley, Florida State, So.; SS Derek Dietrich, Georgia Tech, So.; OF Aaron Senne, Missouri, Jr.; OF Sonny Meade, The Citadel, Sr.; OF Brian Cavazos-Galvez, New Mexico, Sr.; OF Kyle Conley, Washington, Jr.; DH Ty Wright, Georgia Southern, Sr.; UT Blake Dean, LSU, Jr.; UT Rob Segedin, Tulane, So.; SP Ryan Berry, Rice, Jr.; SP Daniel Bibona, UC Irvine, Jr.; SP Matt Harvey, North Carolina, So.; SP Tyler Lockwood, TCU, Jr.; SP Bryan Morgado, Tennessee, So.; SP Scott Ruffin, Texas, So.; RP Zach Calhoon, UT-San Antonio, Jr.; RP Chase Dempsay, Houston, So.; RP Jason Stoffel, Arizona, Jr.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Player of the Year Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, publication and writing contests.