June 9, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
.pdf version
34 players honored by association on first-ever team

MORGANTOWN, W. VA. (NCBWA) A total of 34 standout freshman college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the inaugural Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced today.

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.The 2008 Pro-Line Athletic NCBWA Freshman All-American Team is comprised from 15 conferences and seven conference championship teams. The two All-American squads are also made up of 11 conference "Rookie of the Year" winners.

Auburn placed the most players on the first team with two, while Florida State placed the most on the overall team with three. Conference USA, the Atlantic Coast Conference and the Southeastern Conference placed three players on the first team. The ACC had nine members on the first and second teams, Conference USA and the SEC each had four selections.

The 2008 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 10.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
1B Hunter Morris Auburn 6-4 215 Fr. Huntsville, Ala.
2B Jedd Gyorko West Virginia 5-10 180 Fr. Morgantown, W. Va.
3B Rob Segedin Tulane 6-3 220 Fr. Old Tappan, N.J.
SS Derek Dietrich Georgia Tech 6-1 195 Fr. Parma, Ohio
C Rafael Neda New Mexico 6-0 205 Fr. Obregon, Mexico
OF Kentrail Davis Tennessee 5-9 198 Fr. Theodore, Ala.
OF Brian Fletcher Auburn 6-1 190 Fr. Fayetteville, Ga.
OF Ryan Lockwood South Florida 5-10 175 Fr. Tampa, Fla.
OF Michael Choice Texas-Arlington 6-0 190 Fr. Mansfield, Texas
DH/UT Bryce Brentz Middle Tennessee 6-0 185 Fr. Knoxville, Tenn.
SP Chris Hernandez Miami 6-1 195 Fr. Miami, Fla.
SP Shane Davis Canisius 6-1 198 Fr. Belmont, Ontario
SP Seth Maness East Carolina 5-11 168 Fr. Pinehurst, N.C.
SP Chance Ruffin Texas 6-1 185 Fr. Austin, Texas
RP Kevin Rhoderick Oregon State 6-0 190 Fr. Scottsdale, Ariz.
RP Chase Dempsay Houston 6-3 180 Fr. Baytown, Texas
RP Colin Bates North Carolina 6-1 179 Fr. Naperville, Ill.
Second Team: 1B Jerrud Sabourin, Indiana; 2B Scott Woodward, Coastal Carolina; 3B Stuart Tapley, Florida State; SS Rick Hague, Rice; C Cameron Rupp, Texas; DH/UT Mike McGee, Florida State; OF Jake Williams, Wofford; OF Dan Grovatt, Virginia; OF Nick Cox, Columbia; OF Tyler Holt, Florida State; SP Matt Harvey, North Carolina; SP Deck McGuire, Georgia Tech; SP Bryan Morgado, Tennessee; SP Turner Phelps, James Madison; RP Thomas Girdwood, Elon; RP Cody Martin, Gonzaga; RP Thain Simon, Santa Clara.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Pro-Line Athletic is in its fourth year as a sponsor of the NCBWA. It produces and distributes plaques for National Hitter and Pitchers of the Week during the regular season and extends its award production to include plaques for each member of the Pro-Line/NCBWA All-American team.

During the Summer of 2006 Pro-Line launched into the custom game clothing business with all products being manufactured in its facility in Fort Worth, Texas. As a part of this transition, the company re-branded from Pro-Line Cap Company to become Pro-Line Athletic...a full line athletic apparel company offering American Made headwear, workout gear and uniforms.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site, www.ncbwa.com.

For more information on the Pro-Line Athletic Freshman All-America Team, contact NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro at West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.