Dec. 12, 2007
For Immediate Release
Contact: Bo Carter
.pdf version
19 conferences represented on three teams

LINCOLN, Neb. (NCBWA) - In a year when pitching has a solid chance of being dominant, the eighth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association preseason 2008 All-America team reflects the plethora of mound aces returning for the upcoming campaign.

With the unified Feb. 22 earliest start date for Division I teams, returning 2007 NCBWA Pro-Line Athletic All-America hurlers Brian Matusz (10-3, 2.85 ERA) of San Diego, Jacob Thompson (11-0, 1.50 ERA) of Virginia and Preston Guilmet (12-2, 1.87 ERA) of Arizona join fellow '08 returnees Ryan Berry of Rice, Josh Satow of Arizona State and Scott Gorgen of UC Irvine in heading possible the deepest first team since the NCBWA started its preseason selections prior to 2001. Two-time NCAA World Series champions Oregon State added righty Mike Stutes (12-4) to a second team mound staff which had a composite record of 54-14 and almost 1.2 strikeouts per inning among the six starting pitchers.

There also is no shortage of stellar relief pitchers among 2007 preseason All-America returnee Cole St. Clair of World Series entry Rice, Eryk McConnell of N.C. State and Paul Koss of Southern California on the first unit.

Lest readers forget any of the "big bangers" on offense, 2007 Division I home run champion OF Kyle Russell (28 dingers) of Texas joins the likes of returning pre- and postseason All-America 3B Pedro Alvarez of Vanderbilt and .404-hitting 1B Brett Wallace of Arizona State (another 2007 A-A returnee) on a hard slugging first team.

Talented utility players such as Michigan's Zach Putnam (.330 average, 8 homers, 59 RBI, 8-5 pitching record, played key role in Wolverines' upset over top-ranked Vanderbilt in the '07 NCAA Nashville Regional) and San Diego's Josh Romanski (10-1 pitching mark, .335 batting average) add even more pre-2008 credibility to the dream team.

The stellar outfield also includes Rice CWS participant Aaron Luna and Vanderbilt slugger Dominic de la Osa. Catcher Petey Paramore is one of five Arizona State position players or pitchers featured on the eighth annual NCBWA preseason edition.

There are 19 conferences and 39 schools represented on the three units, which form the base for the '08 Pro-Line Athletic All-America squad and the 22nd annual Dick Howser Trophy, presented by the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Area chamber of Commerce and voted upon by the NCBWA membership. The Howser Trophy will be awarded on Saturday morning prior to Game One of the NCAA World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb., on June 14, 2008, at the Omaha Press Club.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Petey Paramore Arizona State 6-2 215 Jr. Allen, Texas
1B Brett Wallace Arizona State 6-1 245 Jr. Sonoma, Calif.
2B Johnny Giavotella New Orleans 5-8 185 Jr. Harahan, La.
3B Pedro Alvarez Vanderbilt 6-2 225 Sr. New York, N.Y.
SS Derek Shunk Villanova 6-2 203 Sr. Yardley, Pa.
UT Zach Putnam Michigan 6-2 215 Jr. Ann Arbor, Mich.
DH C.J. Ziegler Arizona 6-4 225 Sr. Tucson, Ariz.
OF Aaron Luna Rice 5-11 200 Jr. Southlake, Texas
OF Kyle Russell Texas 6-5 185 Jr. Tomball, Texas
OF Dominic de la Osa Vanderbilt 6-0 205 Sr. Coral Gables, Fla.
SP Ryan Berry Rice 6-1 195 So. Humble, Texas
SP Scott Gorgen UC Irvine 5-10 190 Jr. Concord, Calif.
SP Preston Guilmet Arizona 6-2 190 Jr. Citrus Heights, Calif.
SP Brian Matusz San Diego 6-4 193 Jr. Cave Creek, Ariz.
SP Josh Satow Arizona State 5-9 165 Sr. Scottsdale, Ariz.
SP Jacob Thompson Virginia 6-6 215 Jr. Danville, Va.
RP Daniel Edwards Kansas State 6-0 200 Sr. Kingwood, Texas
RP Eryk McConnell N.C. State 6-1 180 Sr. Waynesville, N.C.
RP Cole St. Clair Rice 6-5 225 Sr. Santa Ana, Calif.
Second Team: C Tim Federowicz, North Carolina, Jr.; 1B Justin Smoak, South Carolina, Jr.; 2B Brandon Turner, Mississippi State, So.; 3B Conor Gillaspie, Wichita State, Jr.; SS Danny Espinosa, Long Beach State, Jr.; UT Josh Romanski, San Diego, Jr.; DH Kiel Roling, Arizona State, Jr.; OF Ollie Linton, UC Irvine, Jr.; OF Mike Bianucci, Auburn, Jr.; OF Mike McKenna, Florida Atlantic, Sr.; SP Bobby Gagg, Coastal Carolina, Jr.; SP Buddy Leake, Arizona State, So.; SP Lance Lynn, Ole Miss, Jr.; SP Mike Minor, Vanderbilt, So.; SP Zack Pitts, Louisville, Sr.; SP Mike Stutes, Oregon State, Sr.; RP David Cales, UIC, Jr.; RP Pat Venditte, Creighton, Sr.; RP Aaron Weatherford, Mississippi State, Jr.
Third Team: C Buster Posey, Florida State, Jr.; 1B Dustin Ackley, North Carolina, So.; 2B Alex Buchholz, Delaware, Jr.; 2B Blake Stouffer, Texas A&M, Sr.; 3B Matt Prokopowicz, Hofstra, So.; SS Brandon Crawford, UCLA, Jr.; UT Cole White, Army, Sr.; DH Scott Hawkins, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.; OF Tony Campana, Cincinnati, Sr.; OF Ike Davis, Arizona State, Jr.; OF Scott Krieger, George Mason, Jr.; OF Ryan Lavarnway, Yale, Jr.; OF Mike McKenna, Florida Atlantic, Sr.; SP Jared Bradford, LSU, Sr.; SP Aaron Crow, Missouri, Jr.; SP Eric Erickson, Miami (Fla.), So.; SP Ben Mancuso, Creighton, Sr.; SP Rob Musgrave, Wichita State, Sr.; SP Aaron Shafer, Wichita State, Jr.; SP Anthony Shawler, Old Dominion, Jr.; RP Nick Cassavechia, Baylor, Sr.; RP Joe Kelly, UC Riverside, So.; RP Chris Manning, Belmont, Jr.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Player of the Year Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, publication and writing contests.