May 25, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
16 standouts selected for consideration of college baseball's top honor

Dick Howser TrophyCOLUMBUS, Ohio (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the list of 16 semifinalists for the 2006 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball. The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2006 winner will announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 16, at 10 a.m. (CDT).

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

Pos. Name, School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
1B Andy D'Alessio, Clemson 6-3 215 Jr. Naples, Fla.
3B Ronnie Bourquin, Ohio State 6-3 210 Jr. Canton, Ohio
SP Eddie Degerman, Rice 6-4 205 Sr. Granada Hills, Calif.
OF Luke Gorsett, Nebraska 6-2 200 Jr. Denver, Colo.
SS Tom King, Troy 5-11 190 Jr. Panama City, Fla.
OF Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison 5-11 195 So. Hershey, Pa.
SP Tim Lincecum, Washington 6-0 165 Jr. Renton, Wash.
SP/DH/ATH Brad Lincoln, Houston 6-0 200 Jr. Clute, Texas
C Michael McKenry, Middle Tennessee 5-10 195 Jr. Knoxville, Tenn.
SP Andrew Miller, North Carolina 6-6 210 Jr. Gainesville, Fla.
2B Jim Negrych, Pittsburgh 5-10 180 Jr. Buffalo, N.Y.
OF Shane Robinson, Florida State 5-9 165 Jr. Tampa, Fla.
SP Wes Roemer, Cal State Fullerton 6-0 185 So. Glendora, Calif.
1B Ryan Strieby, Kentucky 6-6 235 Jr. Brier, Wash.
DH/ATH Damon Sublett, Wichita State 6-1 185 So. Wichita, Kan.
3B Zach Daeges, Creighton 6-5 225 Sr. Harlan, Iowa

A Florida native, Howser was a two-time All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser permanently displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 107th year of existence in 2006. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role in the 21st century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, RHP, Long Beach State, 2004; and Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005.

2006 Dick Howser Trophy:
April 27: Dick Howser Trophy watch list
May 18: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists
June 8: Dick Howser Trophy finalists
June 16: Houston's Lincoln wins 2006 Dick Howser Trophy

Related link:
Official site (