April 27, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
64 standouts selected for consideration of college baseball's top honor

Dick Howser TrophyCOLUMBUS, Ohio (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the watch list of 64 candidates for the 2006 Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2006 winner will be announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 16, at 9:30 a.m. CDT.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

2B David Adams, Virginia RP Brett Jensen, Nebraska
3B Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt OF Carson Kainer, Texas
3B Matt Antonelli, Wake Forest SS Tom King, Troy
SP Tim Bascom, UCF SS Ryan Khoury, Utah
SS Thomas Berkey, Mississippi State OF Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison
RP Daniel Best, Southern Miss SP Tim Lincecum, Washington
3B Ronnie Bourquin, Ohio State DH/ATH Brad Lincoln, Houston
2B Scott Campbell, Gonzaga 3B Matt Mangini, N.C. State
OF Tyler Colvin, Clemson C Michael McKenry, Middle Tennessee
1B Craig Cooper, Notre Dame SP Andrew Miller, North Carolina
2B Ramon Corona, N.C. State C Blake Murphy, Western Carolina
OF Jay Cox, North Carolina 2B Jim Negrych, Pittsburgh
RP Don Czyz, Kansas RP Vinnie Pestano, Cal State Fullerton
3B Zach Daeges, Creighton SP David Price, Vanderbilt
SP Eddie Degerman, Rice DH/ATH Jared Prince, Washington State
DH/ATH Sean Doolittle, Virginia SP Wes Roemer, Cal State Fullerton
SP Johnny Dorn, Nebraska OF Shane Robinson, Florida State
1B Allan Dykstra, Wake Forest SS Joaquin Rodriguez, Jackson State
C Alex Garabedian, Coll. of Charleston SP Eddie Romero, Fresno State
2B Johnny Giavotella, New Orleans OF Joe Roundy, Kansas State
3B Neil Giesler, South Carolina RP Cole St. Clair, Rice
SP Jason Godin, Old Dominion DH/ATH Joe Savery, Rice
1B Danny Hamblin, Arkansas DH/ATH Nate Schill, James Madison
OF Cyle Hankerd, Southern California OF Shawn Scobee, Nevada
C Chris Hatcher, UNC Wilmington DH/ATH J.B. Shuck, Ohio State
SP Bryan Henry, Florida State OF Quinn Stewart, LSU
SP Danny Ray Herrera, New Mexico 1B Ryan Strieby, Kentucky
3B Wes Hodges, Georgia Tech DH/ATH Damon Sublett, Wichita State
1B Luke Hopkins, New Mexico State 3B Kelly Sweppenhiser, VMI
SP Dan Hudson, Old Dominion RP Andrew Urena, Mercer
1B Chad Huffman, TCU SS Christian Vitters, Fresno State
RP Ben Hunter, Wake Forest 1B Charlie Yarbrough, Eastern Kentucky

A Florida native, Howser was a two-time All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser permanently displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 107th year of existence in 2006. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role in the 21st century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, RHP, Long Beach State, 2004; and Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005.

2006 Dick Howser Trophy:
April 27: Dick Howser Trophy watch list
May 18: Dick Howser Trophy semifinalists
June 8: Dick Howser Trophy finalists
June 16: Houston's Lincoln wins 2006 Dick Howser Trophy

Related link:
Official site (dickhowsertrophy.com)