December 13, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russell Anderson
.pdf version
2005 NCAA finalists Texas, Florida combine for five honorees

COLUMBUS, OHIO (NCBWA) The seventh annual Preseason Division I All-America baseball team chosen by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association of America (NCBWA) features five standouts from 2005 NCAA winner Texas and runner-up Florida.

The Gators' slugging first baseman Matt LaPorta with 26 homers and 79 RBI as a sophomore joins Longhorns' All-America OF Drew Stubbs and starting pitcher Kyle McCulloch off coach Augie Garrido's 56-16 national championship squad. UF's 2B Adam Davis graces the third team while Texas' sophomore RHP Adrian Alaniz is a third team starter after his 8-3 freshman campaign with a 2.67 ERA.

Sixteen different Division I conferences have representation on the preseason crew while the starting lineup sports a composite batting average of .362, 105 composite home runs and 491 RBI. Junior OF Shane Robinson of Florida State also returns as the only one of four finalists for the coveted Dick Howser Trophy, presented by the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce and the NCBWA.

Robinson batted .427 for coach Mike Martin's Seminoles as a sophomore in 2005 and was one of the runners-up to Dick Howser Trophy Award winner 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska last summer.

LaPorta paces all the returnees with 26 round-trippers while three starting pitchers on the first team each nailed down 12 victories in '05. SP Ian Kennedy of Southern California joined LaPorta and Robinson as three of the returnees from the NCBWA's '05 postseason All-America squad. Graduation and professional signings claimed 15 of the 18 standouts from the NCBWA first team, which was chosen in June 2005.

Nominations and watch lists for the selection of the 20th annual 2006 Dick Howser Trophy will be made public in spring 2006.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
1B Matt LaPorta Florida 6-1 215 Jr. Port Charlotte, Fla.
2B Chris Campbell Coll. of Charleston 5-10 185 Jr. Jacksonville, Fla.
3B Jared McGuire Boston College 6-1 190 Jr. Harwich, Mass.
SS Josh Rodriguez Rice 6-0 180 Jr. Houston, Texas
C Michael Ambort Lamar 6-1 215 Jr. Rockville Centre, N.Y.
OF Brennan Boesch California 6-6 210 Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.
OF Shane Robinson Florida State 5-9 165 Jr. Tampa, Fla.
OF Drew Stubbs Texas 6-4 199 Jr. Atlanta, Texas
UT Joe Savery Rice 6-3 215 So. Bellaire, Texas
SP Nick Hill Army 6-1 190 Jr. Bluff City, Tenn.
SP Max Scherzer Missouri 6-2 198 Jr. Chesterfield, Mo.
SP Dallas Buck Oregon State 6-3 210 Jr. Newberg, Ore.
SP Ian Kennedy USC 6-1 195 Jr. Huntington Beach, Calif.
SP Kyle McCulloch Texas 6-3 178 Jr. Houston, Texas
RP Scott Reese Creighton 6-6 220 Jr. Portland, Ore.
RP Daniel Best Southern Miss 6-3 170 Sr. Ruston, La.
Second Team: 1B Adam Carr, Oklahoma State, Sr.; 2B Scott Sizemore, Va. Commonwealth, Jr.; 3B Wes Hodges, Georgia Tech, Jr.; SS Mitch Hilligoss, Purdue, Jr.; C Chad Tracy, Pepperdine, Jr.; OF Jon Jay, Miami (Fla.), Jr.; OF Chad Huffman, TCU, Sr.; OF Nathan Southard, Tulane, Sr.; DH/ATH Sean Doolittle, Virginia, So.; DH/ATH Brian Pellegrini, St. Bonaventure, Jr.; SP Johnny Dorn, Nebraska, So.; SP Joba Chamberlain, Nebraska, Jr.; SP Andrew Miller, North Carolina, Jr.; SP Jonah Nickerson, Oregon State, Jr.; SP Tim Lincecum, Washington, Jr.; RP Mark Melancon, Arizona, Jr.; RP Tyler Chambliss, Florida State, Jr.; RP Kevin Gunderson, Oregon State, Jr.
Third Team: 1B Matt Rizzotti, Manhattan, So.; 2B Adam Davis, Florida, Jr.; 3B Jay Heafner, Davidson, Sr.; (tie) 3B Brad Emaus, Tulane, So.; SS Blake Davis, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.; C Jeff Kunkel, Michigan, Sr.; (tie) C J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee, So.; OF Hunter Mense, Missouri, Jr.; OF Anthony Wycklendt, Northwestern, Sr.; OF Jeremy Jones, No Carolina A&T, Sr.; DH/ATH Matt Wieters, Georgia Tech, So.; DH/ATH Jon Willard, South Carolina, Jr.; DH/ATH Justin Baum, Pacific, So.; SP John Ely, Miami (Ohio), So.; SP James Adkins, Tennessee, So.; SP Adrian Alaniz, Texas, So.; SP Tim Bascom, UCF, Jr.; SP Jared Hughes, Long Beach State, Jr.; RP Brett Jensen, Nebraska, Sr.; RP Blair Erickson, UC Irvine, Jr.
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Player of the Year Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, publication and writing contests.

2006 Pro-Line Cap All-America Team:
2006 Preseason NCBWA All-America Team
NCBWA extends relationship with Pro-Line Cap Co.