National Collegiate Baseball Writers May 19, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russ Anderson
16 standouts selected for consideration of college baseball's top honor

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (NCBWA) - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the list of 16 semifinalists for the 2005 Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2005 winner will announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 17 at 10:00 a.m. CDT.

The Xanthus Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. The award was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

Player Pos. School Cl. Hometown
Brian Bogusevic P/OF Tulane Jr. Oak Lawn, Ill.
Lance Broadway P TCU Jr. Grand Prairie, Texas
Cesar Carillo P Miami (Fla.) Jr. Chicago, Ill.
Mike Costanzo P/1B Coastal Carolina Jr. Springfield, Pa.
Jacoby Ellsbury OF Oregon State Jr. Madras, Ore.
Alex Gordon 3B Nebraska Jr. Lincoln, Neb.
Tyler Greene SS Georgia Tech Jr. Plantation, Fla.
Luke Hochevar P Tennessee Jr. Fowler, Colo.
Seth Johnston SS Texas Sr. Boerne, Texas
Ian Kennedy P USC So. Huntington Beach, Calif.
Ryan Patterson OF LSU Sr. Rowlett, Texas
Brian Pettway OF Ole Miss Jr. Vicksburg, Miss.
Shane Robinson OF Florida State So. Tampa, Fla.
Ricky Romero P Cal State Fullerton Jr. East Los Angeles, Calif.
Gabe Scott OF Alabama Sr. Lake Charles, La.
Corey Wimberley 2B Alcorn State So. Jacksonville, Fla.

A Florida native, Howser was a two-time All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser permanently displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 105th year of existence in 2004. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

For more information on the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy, contact David Feaster of the St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce at 727-388-1000 or Russell Anderson of Conference USA at 214-774-1351.

Please also visit or learn more about Xanthus at

All-time Xanthus Dick Howser Trophy winners
1987 Mike Fiore, Miami
1988 Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State
1989 Scott Bryant, Texas
1990 Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade C.C. South
1991 Frank Rodriguez, Howard (Texas)
1992 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas
1993 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas
1994 Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech
1995 Todd Helton, Tennessee
1996 Kris Benson, Clemson
1997 J. D. Drew, Florida State
1998 Eddy Furniss, LSU
1999 Jason Jennings, Baylor
2000 Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech
2001 Mark Prior, P, USC
2002 Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson
2003 Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern
2004 Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State

Related link:
Dick Howser Trophy official site (