National Collegiate Baseball Writers April 28, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russ Anderson
64 standouts selected for consideration of college baseball's top honor

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (NCBWA) - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, has released the watch list of 64 candidates for the 2005 Xanthus Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2005 winner will be announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 17, at 9:30 a.m. CDT.

The Xanthus Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

1B Karl Amonite, Auburn SS Seth Johnston, Texas
OF Brennan Boesch, California P Ian Kennedy, USC
DH Dennis Bigley, Oral Roberts 1B Matt LaPorta, Florida
SS Cameron Blair, Texas Tech 1B Jeff Larish, Arizona State
DH Brian Bogusevic, Tulane 1B Curtis Ledbetter, Nebraska
OF James Boone, Missouri P Tim Lincecum, Washington
3B Ryan Braun, Miami 1B Eric Lis, Evansville
P Lance Broadway, TCU 2B Jed Lowrie, Stanford
1B Jordan Brown, Arizona 1B John Mayberry, Stanford
P Dallas Buck, Oregon State P Andrew Miller, North Carolina
OF Travis Buck, Arizona State C Caleb Moore, East Tennessee St.
2B Chris Campbell, Coll. of Charleston RP Erik Morrison, Ball State
P Cesar Carillo, Miami DH Micah Owings, Tulane
1B Adam Carr, Oklahoma State 2B Jordan Pacheco, New Mexico
OF Daniel Carte, Winthrop OF Ryan Patterson, LSU
P Joba Chamberlain, Nebraska 1B Steve Pearce, South Carolina
C Jeff Clement, USC P Mike Pelfrey, Wichita State
OF Jeff Corsaletti, Florida SS Cliff Pennington, Texas A&M
DH Mike Costanzo, Coastal Carolina OF Brian Pettway, Ole Miss
RP J. Brent Cox, Texas 3B Ronnie Prettyman, Cal St. Fullerton
OF Trevor Crowe, Arizona P Cesar Ramos, Long Beach State
OF Jacoby Ellsbury, Oregon State OF Shane Robinson, Florida State
2B Chris Getz, Michigan P Ricky Romero, Cal St. Fullerton
3B Alex Gordon, Nebraska DH Joe Savery, Rice
C Tuffy Gosewich, Arizona State P Max Scherzer, Missouri
SS Tyler Greene, Georgia Tech OF Gabe Scott, Alabama
DH Kris Harvey, Clemson 2B Scott Sizemore, VCU
RP Craig Hansen, St. John's 3B Brandon Taylor, BYU
DH Stephen Head, Ole Miss 1B Adam Tucker, Birmingham-Southern
3B Jay Heafner, Davidson C Brad Willcutt, Southern Miss
P Luke Hochevar, Tennessee 2B Corey Wimberley, Alcorn State
3B Wes Hodges, Georgia Tech 3B Ryan Zimmerman, Virginia

A Florida native, Howser was a two-time All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser permanently displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 105th year of existence in 2004. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Xanthus Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern, 2003; and Jered Weaver, RHP, Long Beach State.

For more information on the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy, contact David Feaster of the St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce at 727-388-1000 or Russell Anderson of Conference USA at 214-774-1351.

Please also visit or learn more about Xanthus at

Related link:
Dick Howser Trophy official site (