National Collegiate Baseball Writers Jan. 25, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russ Anderson
$75,000 worth of scholarships added to program

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, which works in conjunction with the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Chamber of Commerce in selecting the Dick Howser Trophy, is pleased to announce a couple of exciting changes to the award this spring.

Thanks to the support of Xanthus Higher Education, the award will now be known as the Xanthus Dick Howser Trophy.

Xanthus Higher Education is a progressive, multi-faceted organization that endeavors to assist institutions of higher learning in all aspects of educational debt management, including assisting with student loan allocation and debt consolidation. This is accomplished through the development of strategic alliances and partnerships with selected organizations throughout the United States. Launched in 2002, Xanthus Higher Education is headquartered in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Xanthus' support of the Dick Howser Trophy will also provide for nearly $75,000 worth of scholarships that will be given to Division I institutions. All 64 members of the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy Watch List that will be released in mid-April will receive a $1,000 scholarship in their name to be given to the general scholarship fund at their school. Additionally, the winner of the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy will receive a $10,000 check to be given in his name to that player's school.

"We are extremely excited to be involved with the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy and proud to honor the nation's top college baseball player," said Jim Zach, CEO of Xanthus. "At the same time, we want to reward the student part of these student-athletes and their Universities with support in the educational realm."

Long Beach State's Jered Weaver won the Xanthus Dick Howser Trophy in 2004.

The initial 2005 Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy Watch List will be announced on April 28. The list will be reduced to 16 semifinalists on May 19 and the eight finalists will be released on June 9. The 2005 Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy winner will be honored on June 17 in Omaha on the opening day of the College World Series.

The Dick Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. The trophy, given in memory of the Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life. The 1987-98 winners were selected by the American Baseball Coaches Association. The membership of the NCBWA has selected the award for the past six years.

Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J.D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; and Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, Southern California, 2001; Khalil Greene, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, Southern, 2003 and Jered Weaver, Long Beach State, 2004.

For more information on the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy, contact David Feaster of the St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce at 727-388-1000 or Russell Anderson of Conference USA at 214-774-1351.

Please also visit or learn more about Xanthus at

Related link:
Dick Howser Trophy official site (