National Collegiate Baseball Writers July 7, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Russ Anderson
Association adds three new positions for coming season

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released its list of 2005-06 officers today, as approved during the organization’s annual meeting in Philadelphia earlier this week. These officers begin their duties immediately and will serve in these roles through the 2006 College World Series.

Todd Lamb, Assistant Sports Information Director at Ohio State University, will serve as the organization’s president during the upcoming year. Lamb has served as an officer in the NCBWA for the past three years, has promoted Ohio State Baseball since 2002 and previously worked at Clemson and Rice. This past year, Lamb coordinated the inaugural NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award.

Dave Fanucci, Director of Communications for USA Baseball and a two-year officer in the NCBWA, has been promoted to first vice-president and is slated to serve as Lamb’s successor. Mex Carey, Assistant SID at St. John’s has been elevated to second vice-president and Shamus McKnight, previously an NCBWA board member, has been named as Third Vice-President.

A trio of new positions were officially added to the list of officers in Philadelphia, including the naming of the first-ever NCBWA coordinators for Division II and Division III. A pair of longtime NCBWA contributors will now officially take over these titles, with Bob McComas of Slippery Rock being named Division II coordinator, while Steve Marovich of Carthage will serve as D-III coordinator. The gentlemen will coordinate weekly honors, postseason awards and other publicity efforts for these divisions.

The other newly-appointed position will be the assistant executive director, a spot that will be filled by outgoing president Mike Montoro of Southern Miss, who will continue to assist the organization with a number of projects, including the annual NCBWA directory and the Division I players of the week.

Veteran secretary/treasurer and past president Russell Anderson of Conference USA has been promoted to associate executive director, where he will continue his roles in membership and finance for the organization. In addition, he will continue to work with NCBWA Executive Director Bo Carter on organizational issues such as corporate sponsorships and the continuing relationship with the St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce and the Dick Howser Trophy.

Two new appointments were made to the board of directors, where Joe Dier of Mississippi State and Chuck Dunlap of the Southeastern Conference join Barry Allen of Alabama and Kyle McRae of Stanford in supporting the NCBWA’s efforts.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-American awards, publication and writing contests. Additionally, the organization has a website at For membership, send annual dues ($15), along with mailing address, phone, fax and e-mail address information to Russell Anderson, NCBWA Associate Executive Director, c/o Conference USA, 5201 No. O’Connor Blvd., Suite 300, Irving, TX 75309.