

Jardin May jmay@orangebowl.org 305-341-4785

# Oklahoma's Tre Brown Receives Latest 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award Nomination



**MIAMI LAKES, FL.** (<u>www.orangebowl.org</u>) - Oklahoma's Tre Brown is this week's nominee for the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Brown, a sophomore cornerback, lost his mother Oct. 14 but has not missed a game for the Sooners.

"It was just powerful," Oklahoma coach Lincoln Riley said Oct. 22, two days after Brown starred in a win over TCU. "I still really don't know how the kid did it; to come play at the level he did. He played extremely well. Credit to him, the inner strength he has, the support system around him; his family, friends, teammates here, family here. I think a lot of people lifted him up. And he lifted a lot of us up, too, even in a hard time for him. Having him back was special."

Brown's mother, Beverly Brewer, died on Oct. 14. Her funeral was three days later in Tulsa, Okla., where several of Brown's Sooner teammates served as pallbearers.

Brown then made his first start of the season Oct. 20 in a 52-27 win over the Horned Frogs, tallying four tackles and two pass breakups, which earned him a game ball from Riley in the locker room. He started at corner again in this past Saturday's 51-14 win over Kansas State, and he returned the game's opening kickoff 27 yards.

Brown, a 5-foot-10, 182-pounder from Tulsa, leads the Sooners with six pass breakups this season. He has 25 total tackles and three tackles for loss.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

## Previous Winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

2017 D'Cota Dixon - Wisconsin
2016 James Conner – Pittsburgh
2015 Hunter Knighton - Miami
2014 Laken Tomlinson - Duke

2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose State
2012 Daniel Rodriguez - Clemson
2011 Arthur Ray - Michigan State
2010 Eric LeGrand - Rutgers

2009 University of Connecticut Football Team

**2008** Wilson Holloway - Tulsa **2007** Zerbin Singleton - Navy

**2006** Ray Ray McElrathbey - Clemson

2005 Tulane Football Team2004 Haracia Colen - Memphis2003 Neil Parry - San Jose State2002 William Bratton - Toledo

## **2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees**

- Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 26: Rex Culpepper, Syracuse | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 3: Caleb Farley, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 10: Antwan Dixon, Kent State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 17: Marquez Stevenson, Houston | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 24: Janarius Robinson, Florida State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 24: Tre Brown, Oklahoma | High-resolution headshot

## Related link:

• Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award

#### **About the Orange Bowl**

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-2019 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to <a href="https://www.orangebowl.org">www.orangebowl.org</a> or follow the @OrangeBowl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

#### **About FWAA**

Founded in 1941, the **Football Writers Association of America** consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-

day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at <a href="mailto:tiger@fwaa.com">tiger@fwaa.com</a>.

###