FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee Oct. 24, 2018



Jardin May jmay@orangebowl.org 305-341-4785

# Florida State's Janarius Robinson Named Latest 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award Nominee



**MIAMI LAKES, FL.** (www.orangebowl.org) - Florida State's Janarius Robinson is this week's nominee for the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Robinson, a redshirt sophomore defensive end, starred for the Seminoles in their win Saturday over Wake Forest, his first game back after losing his childhood home to Hurricane Michael.

"It's been better getting back to practice after going through what I've been going through for the last week," Robinson said last week, according to The Athletic. "It's a time for me to get my mind away and off of the things that have happened. I come out here, get my mind off of it and get back to work with my brothers."

Robinson's hometown of Panama City, Fla., was one of the hardest-hit areas of Hurricane Michael. His family had evacuated to Georgia beforehand, and when they returned Friday, the house — which was originally owned by Robinson's grandmother — was gone.

The 6-foot-5, 259-pound Robinson returned to practice last Tuesday and on Saturday notched a careerbest six tackles, including one sack, in the Seminoles' 38-17 win over the Demon Deacons.

A GoFundMe page was created with NCAA approval to help the Robinsons, with a goal of raising \$75,000. As of Oct. 22, it has raised more than \$107,000.

---More---

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

## Previous Winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

2017 D'Cota Dixon - Wisconsin
2016 James Conner – Pittsburgh
2015 Hunter Knighton - Miami
2014 Laken Tomlinson - Duke
2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose State
2012 Daniel Rodriguez - Clemson
2011 Arthur Ray - Michigan State
2010 Eric LeGrand - Rutgers

2009 University of Connecticut Football Team
2008 Wilson Holloway - Tulsa
2007 Zerbin Singleton - Navy
2006 Ray Ray McElrathbey - Clemson
2005 Tulane Football Team
2004 Haracia Colen - Memphis
2003 Neil Parry - San Jose State
2002 William Bratton – Toledo

#### 2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

• Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot

- Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 26: Rex Culpepper, Syracuse | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 3: Caleb Farley, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 10: Antwan Dixon, Kent State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 17: Marquez Stevenson, Houston | High-resolution headshot

#### **Related link:**

Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award

#### About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-2019 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to <u>www.orangebowl.org</u> or follow the @OrangeBowl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

### About FWAA

Founded in 1941, the **Football Writers Association of America** consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.