

Jardin May jmay@orangebowl.org 305-341-4785

Syracuse Redshirt Sophomore Nominated For 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award



MIAMI LAKES, FL. (<u>www.orangebowl.org</u>) – Syracuse's **Rex Culpepper** is this week's nominee for the **2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award**. Culpepper, a redshirt sophomore, had been diagnosed with testicular cancer in the spring and was declared cancer-free in June.

"At times it was harder than anything else I've faced in my life, but even when things were at their worst, there was never a doubt in my mind that I'd eventually get back here one day, and I will take nothing for granted going forward," Culpepper wrote in August in The Players' Tribune.

Culpepper, a redshirt sophomore quarterback, was diagnosed in March after spring break and endured four one-week rounds of chemotherapy treatments throughout the spring in both Syracuse and his hometown of Tampa, Fla. He made an appearance in the Orange's spring game in April, throwing a touchdown pass, and he was declared cancer-free on June 1. He returned to the program for summer workouts shortly afterward.

The 6-foot-3, 221-pound Culpepper appeared in all 12 games last season and made one start, completing 45 of 75 passes for the season for 518 yards with two touchdowns, while rushing for 54 yards. Syracuse is off to a 4-0 start this season for the first time since 1991.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

2017 D'Cota Dixon - Wisconsin
2016 James Conner - Pittsburgh
2015 Hunter Knighton - Miami
2014 Laken Tomlinson - Duke
2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose State
2012 Daniel Rodriguez - Clemson
2011 Arthur Ray - Michigan State

2009 University of Connecticut Football Team
2008 Wilson Holloway - Tulsa
2007 Zerbin Singleton - Navy
2006 Ray Ray McElrathbey - Clemson
2005 Tulane Football Team

2004 Haracia Colen - Memphis 2003 Neil Parry - San Jose State 2002 William Bratton - Toledo

2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame | High-resolution headshot

Related link:

http://game.orangebowl.org/honors/courageaward/

About the Orange Bowl

2010 Eric LeGrand - Rutgers

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-2019 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to www.orangebowl.org or follow the @OrangeBowl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

###