Football Writers Association of America Nov. 14, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Panthers end Clemson's 23-game home winning streak
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Pitt Panthers headlined a day of upsets when Chris Blewitt booted a 48-yard field goal with six seconds left to stun No. 2 Clemson, 43-42, on the road. For beating their highest-ranked opponent since knocking off No. 2 West Virginia in 2007, the Panthers (6-4) earned the Football Writers Association of America National Team of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Nov. 12.

The announcement was made on "Playbook," hosted by Chris Carlin and Gino Torretta on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Nation." Each Monday during the season, the FWAA National Team of the Week will be unveiled during the program, which airs from 1-4 p.m. ET.

Trailing 42-40 going into the final minute, the Panthers’ defense came up with third- and fourth-down stops with 58 seconds left to keep their chances alive. Nathan Peterman capped off a career day of 308 yards and five touchdowns by connecting with Scott Orndoff on two passes to get Blewitt within range.

"Our team had a lot of guts tonight," Pittsburgh coach Pat Narduzzi said.

Pitt handed Clemson its first home loss since 2013 and ended the Tigers’ 23-game regular-season win streak dating back to November 2014. James Connor rushed for 132 yards and a touchdown and also caught one of Peterman’s scoring passes.

This is Pitt’s first time to be selected as the FWAA National Team of the Week since the award’s inception in the 2002 season.

The other National Team of the Week nominee for the weekend of Nov. 12 was:

Iowa (6-4): Freshman kicker Keith Duncan nailed a 33-yard field goal as time expired Saturday to send Iowa past No. 3 Michigan, 14-13, at sold-out Kinnick Stadium. After an Iowa defensive stop, a face mask penalty by Michigan on Iowa’s punt return set the Hawkeyes up at the Michigan 36-yard line to start the final drive. It was Iowa's first home win over a ranked opponent since 2011 – also against Michigan – and the Hawkeyes’ first win over a top-five opponent since 2010 against Michigan State.

The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. Members of the 12-person FWAA All-America Committee – plus one fan vote from Twitter – decide the weekly honor.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

2016 National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 3: Houston Cougars
Weekend of Sept. 10: Arkansas Razorbacks
Weekend of Sept. 17: Louisville Cardinals
Weekend of Sept. 24: Tennessee Volunteers
Weekend of Oct. 1: Washington Huskies
Weekend of Oct. 8: Navy Midshipmen
Weekend of Oct. 15: Alabama Crimson Tide
Weekend of Oct. 22: Penn State Nittany Lions
Weekend of Oct. 29: Wyoming Cowboys
Weekend of Nov. 5: Mississippi State Bulldogs
Weekend of Nov. 12: Pitt Panthers
Weekend of Nov. 19: Kansas Jayhawks

Nick Baumgardner Big Ten
Kirk Bohls Austin American-Statesman Chairman
Tim Griffin San Antonio Express-News C-USA
Clay Henry Hawgs Illustrated SEC
Joey Johnston American Athletic
Steve Jones Louisville Courier-Journal ACC
Matt Roberson Jonesboro Sun Sun Belt
John Shinn Norman Transcript Big 12
Dave Southorn Idaho Statesman Mountain West
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications Independents/National
Ryan Thorburn Eugene Register-Guard Pac-12
John Wagner Toledo Blade Mid-American