Football Writers Association of America Oct. 17, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Crimson Tide hammers Tennessee in Knoxville
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) – Freshman quarterback Jalen Hurts rushed for 132 yards and three touchdowns to lead an overpowering rushing attack as the Alabama Crimson Tide remained undefeated (7-0) with a decisive 49-10 win at Tennessee. The win earned Alabama the Football Writers Association of America National Team of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Oct. 15.

The announcement was made on "Playbook," hosted by Chris Carlin and Gino Torretta on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Nation." Each Monday during the season, the FWAA National Team of the Week will be unveiled during the program, which airs from 1-4 p.m. ET.

Alabama rushed for 438 yards, the most for the Crimson Tide since going for 451 against Tennessee in 1986, and two Alabama players rushed for over 100 yards. In his first start, Bo Scarbrough added 109 yards and a touchdown on only five carries, including an 85-yard scoring run. The Crimson Tide offense generated 594 total yards, the most in the 98-game series with Tennessee.

Free safety Ronnie Harrison returned an interception 58 yards for a touchdown to put Alabama ahead 14-0 in the first quarter to start the scoring spree. It was Alabama’s eighth defensive touchdown this season. Eddie Jackson returned a punt 79 yards for a score to open the fourth quarter that extended the Alabama lead to 42-10.

"We said we wanted a complete game, and they certainly did that," Alabama coach Nick Saban said. "We wanted to make sure that the other team never gained any momentum and had to play 60 minutes, and we obviously did that. I think the defense played outstanding, but our ability to run the ball for 400 yards took a lot of time off the clock. It took them off the field. This is as proud of our team as I’ve been all year long in terms of playing a complete game against a really good team."

Alabama, winners of 19 straight, has defeated 11 consecutive ranked opponents dating back to a loss to Ole Miss in September 2015. The Crimson Tide has won its last seven games against ranked opponents as the visiting team.

The other National Team of the Week nominee for the weekend of Oct. 15:

• Vanderbilt (3-4): The Commodores won their first Southeastern Conference road game under coach Derek Mason, and beat Georgia for only the third time in the last 22 meetings, 17-16. Georgia led in total yards, 421-171, but Vanderbilt scored following a long return of the opening kickoff, and on a field goal following a Georgia turnover to start the second half. Khari Blasingame's two-yard run with 9:43 left was the game-winner.

The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. Members of the 12-person FWAA All-America Committee – plus one fan vote from Twitter – decide the weekly honor.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

2016 National Teams of the Week
• Weekend of Sept. 3: Houston Cougars
• Weekend of Sept. 10: Arkansas Razorbacks
• Weekend of Sept. 17: Louisville Cardinals
• Weekend of Sept. 24: Tennessee Volunteers
• Weekend of Oct. 1: Washington Huskies
• Weekend of Oct. 8: Navy Midshipmen
• Weekend of Oct. 15: Alabama Crimson Tide
• Weekend of Oct. 22: Penn State Nittany Lions
• Weekend of Oct. 29: Wyoming Cowboys
• Weekend of Nov. 5: Mississippi State Bulldogs
• Weekend of Nov. 12: Pitt Panthers
• Weekend of Nov. 19: Kansas Jayhawks

Nick Baumgardner Big Ten
Kirk Bohls Austin American-Statesman Chairman
Tim Griffin San Antonio Express-News C-USA
Clay Henry Hawgs Illustrated SEC
Joey Johnston American Athletic
Steve Jones Louisville Courier-Journal ACC
Matt Roberson Jonesboro Sun Sun Belt
John Shinn Norman Transcript Big 12
Dave Southorn Idaho Statesman Mountain West
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications Independents/National
Ryan Thorburn Eugene Register-Guard Pac-12
John Wagner Toledo Blade Mid-American