FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee September 21, 2016



Schuyler Easterling seasterling@orangebowl.org 305-341-4737

## TCU'S CAYLIN MOORE NOMINATED FOR CAPITAL ONE ORANGE BOWL-FWAA COURAGE AWARD

DALLAS (FWAA) – TCU's Caylin Moore is this week's nominee for the **2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award**.

Moore, a redshirt senior safety, has overcome a number of obstacles in earning an academic scholarship at TCU, from growing up in inner-city Los Angeles and being homeless during his youth, to having a father who is in prison for life and a mother who was a victim of domestic abuse and sexual assault. Moore started his career at Marist, where he became a janitor to help make ends meet financially. He transferred to TCU before the 2015 season and carries a 3.9 grade-point average as an economics major with a double minor in mathematics and sociology.

Additionally, Moore has taken part in more than a dozen community service initiatives, including starting a youth outreach program at TCU called S.P.A.R.K. He was recently named to the 25th anniversary Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

## **About the Orange Bowl**

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2016. For more information on the 2016-17 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program

presented by Panera Bread, log on to <a href="https://www.orangebowl.org">www.orangebowl.org</a>. Follow Orange Bowl: <a href="mailto:@OrangeBowl">@OrangeBowl</a>, <a href="mailto:Facebook">Facebook</a> and <a href="mailto:Instagram">Instagram</a>.

## **About the FWAA**

The Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, or to submit a nomination for this year's Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.

**2016 Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees** 

- Sept. 14: James Conner, Pittsburgh
- Sept. 21: Caylin Moore, TCU

\*Editor's Note: High quality photos of nominee available upon request.

###