Football Writers Association of America July 11, 2013
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
.pdf version
81 players get consideration for defensive player of the year
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) – South Carolina junior end Jadeveon Clowney, the lone returning finalist from last season, heads the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List of 81 standout defensive players, announced today by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy

One of the players on the watch list most likely will be awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented annually to the national defensive player of the year by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and several independents are represented on the list that is evenly divided among linemen, linebackers and defensive backs.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. Once again, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 21.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2013 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s entire membership, selects the 25-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway. Georgia Tech’s Randy Rhino, a member of the FWAA’s 1972 All-America team, will be honored. Florida head coach Will Muschamp will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

Ricardo Allen, Purdue, DB Christian Jones, Florida State, LB
Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech, DL Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State, DB
Deion Barnes, Penn State, DL Eric Kendricks, UCLA, LB
Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, DL Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State, DL
Anthony Barr, UCLA, LB Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State, LB
Deion Belue, Alabama, DB Craig Loston, LSU, DB
Bene Benwikere, San Jose State DB Aaron Lynch, USF, DL
Greg Blair, Cincinnati, LB Khalil Mack, Buffalo, LB
Chris Borland, Wisconsin, LB Kareem Martin, North Carolina, DL
Tre Boston, North Carolina, DB Daniel McCullers, Tennessee, DL
Carl Bradford, Arizona State, LB Terrance Mitchell, Oregon, DB
Morgan Breslin, USC, DL James Morris, Iowa, LB
Jonathan Brown, Illinois, LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama, LB
Christian Bryant, Ohio State, DB Trent Murphy, Stanford, LB
Max Bullough, Michigan State, LB Marco Nelson, Tulsa, DB
Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, DL Louis Nix III, Notre Dame, DL
Ross Cockrell, Duke, DB Roosevelt Nix, Kent State, DL
Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma, DB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, LB
Scott Crichton, Oregon State, DL Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College, LB
Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State, DB Hayes Pullard, USC, LB
Quandre Diggs, Texas, DB Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida, DB
Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh, DL Ed Reynolds, Stanford, DB
Dominique Easley, Florida, DL Bradley Roby, Ohio State, DB
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, DB Marcus Rush, Michigan State, DL
Antone Exum, Virginia Tech, DB Tyler Scott, Northwestern, DL
Devonte Fields, TCU, DL Ryan Shazier, Ohio State, LB
Ben Gardner, Stanford, DL Shayne Skov, Stanford, LB
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State, DB Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut, LB
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama, DB Chris Smith, Arkansas, DL
Ra’Shede Hageman, Minnesota, DL Hakeem Smith, Louisville, DB
Bryce Hager, Baylor, LB Will Sutton, Arizona State, DL
Andre Hal, Vanderbilt, DB Damian Swann, Georgia, DB
Jordan Hicks, Texas, LB Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame, DL
Adrian Hubbard, Alabama, LB Jack Tyler, Virginia Tech, LB
Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech, DL Kyle Van Noy, BYU, LB
Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky, LB Jason Verrett, TCU, DB
Shawn Jackson, Tulsa, LB Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State, DB
Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas, DL Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest, DL
Timmy Jernigan, Florida State, DL Leonard Williams, USC, DL
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, LB Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State, DB
Anthony Johnson, LSU, DL  
By conference: SEC (16), Pac-12 (14), Big Ten (13), ACC (12), Big 12 (12), American Athletic (4), Independents (3), Conference USA (2), Mid-American (2), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt (1).
Players may be added or removed from the list before or during the season

The FWAA has named a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club was founded in 1991 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club’s activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of traditionselection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

July 8: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award
July 9: Mackey Award/Riminigton Trophy
July 10: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
July 15: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award
July 16: Biletnikoff Award
July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
July 18: Doak Walker Award
July 19: Walter Camp Award