Football Writers Association of America Nov. 19, 2012
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Bears stomp top-ranked K-State
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) The Baylor Bears sent a shockwave through the college football world this past Saturday with their 52-24 win over top-ranked Kansas State. The win, as stunning for its 28-point margin and Baylor's 580 yards of total offense as for the victory itself, earned the Bears the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Nov. 17. The announcement came exclusively on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Today," hosted by Mark Packer and Eddie George.

The Baylor defense intercepted Collin Klein three times while Glasco Martin ran for three touchdowns, and Lache Seastrunk put the game away with an 80-yard touchdown run to end the third quarter. Seastrunk finished with 185 yards. Baylor had not beaten a team ranked as high as No. 2 since a 13-7 win over No. 2 Tennessee in the 1957 Sugar Bowl.

"All week we believed we were going to beat them, and if we did we weren't going to be surprised when it happened," said quarterback Nick Florence, who completed 20 of 32 passes for 238 yards and two touchdowns in the first half as Baylor jumped out to a 28-7 lead.

Other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Nov. 17 included:

Kent State (10-1): The Golden Flashes beat Bowling Green 31-24 on the road to clinch the Mid-American Conference's East Division title, and will play for a conference championship for the first time since 1972. Kent State was buoyed by a 241-yard rushing performance by Dri Archer.
Stanford (9-2): The Cardinal defense held No. 2 Oregon, the nation's leading offense, to two touchdowns in regulation, and then again in overtime to steal a 17-14 win on the road. Jordan Williamson's 37-yard field goal won it for Stanford, which can now win the Pac-12 North Division with a win this week at No. 17 UCLA. The win snapped Oregon's 13-game win streak, the longest in the nation.

The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the eighth season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

Members of the FWAA All-America Committee decide the weekly honor. Each remaining Monday during the 2012 college football regular season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week. The winner will be announced through Nov. 26 at 9:30 a.m. ET on the SiriusXM College Sports Nation channel.

Founded in 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted seven games that have decided the college football national championship, including four Bowl Championship Series title games. This season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will be played on Jan. 3, 2013, at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., and the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl will be played on Dec. 29, 2012, at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Ariz.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

2012 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 1: Ohio Bobcats
Weekend of Sept. 8: ULM Warhawks
Weekend of Sept. 15: Stanford Cardinal
Weekend of Sept. 22: Kansas State Wildcats
Weekend of Sept. 29: Washington Huskies
Weekend of Oct. 6: N.C. State Wolfpack
Weekend of Oct. 13: Texas Tech Red Raiders
Weekend of Oct. 20: Duke Blue Devils
Weekend of Oct. 27: Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Weekend of Nov. 3: Alabama Crimson Tide, Oregon Ducks
Weekend of Nov. 10: Texas A&M Aggies
Weekend of Nov. 17: Baylor Bears
Weekend of Nov. 24: Penn State Nittany Lions

Mark Anderson Las Vegas Review-Journal Mountain West
Lee Barfknecht Omaha World-Herald Big Ten
Kirk Bohls Austin American-Statesman WAC
Jimmy Burch Fort Worth Star-Telegram Big 12
Jon Gold CBS Sports Pac-12
Vahe Gregorian St. Louis Post-Dispatch SEC
Tommy Hicks Mobile Press-Register Sun Belt
Ron Higgins Memphis Commercial Appeal Conference USA
John Silver Manchester Journal Inquirer Big East
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications National
Greg Wallace Anderson Independent-Mail SEC
John Wagner Toledo Blade Mid-American