Football Writers Association of America Oct. 15, 2012
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Red Raiders blow past No. 5 West Virginia
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) Seth Doege threw for a career-high 499 yards and six touchdowns leading the Texas Tech Red Raiders to a stunning 49-14 win over No. 5 West Virginia to earn the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week award for games of the weekend of Oct. 13. The announcement came exclusively on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Today," hosted by Mark Packer and Eddie George.

The Red Raiders (5-1) had 18 plays of 15 yards or more – including a 61-yard pass to Jace Amaro and a 53-yard touchdown run by SaDale Foster – and scored touchdowns on five of their seven first-half possessions to take a 35-7 lead.

On the afternoon, the Texas Tech defense held West Virginia to 38 points below its season scoring average.

"This is a truly a team, a city, a university win today because not a lot of people gave us a chance," Texas Tech coach Tommy Tuberville said. "That was just a total team win."

Other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Oct. 13 included:

Oklahoma (4-1): The Sooners blasted Texas for a second consecutive season, storming out to a 36-2 halftime lead en route to a 63-21 win. Quarterback Blake Bell ran for four short touchdowns and Landry Jones threw for 321 yards and two touchdowns for Oklahoma, which has now outscored Texas 118-38 the past two years.
Tulane (1-5): The Green Wave snapped its 15-game losing streak with a 27-26 win at home over SMU. Ryan Griffin hit Rob Kelley with a touchdown pass with 35 seconds left to give new head coach Curtis Johnson his first career win.

The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the eighth season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

Members of the FWAA All-America Committee decide the weekly honor. Each remaining Monday during the 2012 college football regular season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week. The winner will be announced through Nov. 26 at 9:30 a.m. ET on the SiriusXM College Sports Nation channel.

Founded in 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted seven games that have decided the college football national championship, including four Bowl Championship Series title games. This season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will be played on Jan. 3, 2013, at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., and the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl will be played on Dec. 29, 2012, at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Ariz.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

2012 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 1: Ohio Bobcats
Weekend of Sept. 8: ULM Warhawks
Weekend of Sept. 15: Stanford Cardinal
Weekend of Sept. 22: Kansas State Wildcats
Weekend of Sept. 29: Washington Huskies
Weekend of Oct. 6: N.C. State Wolfpack
Weekend of Oct. 13: Texas Tech Red Raiders
Weekend of Oct. 20: Duke Blue Devils
Weekend of Oct. 27: Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Weekend of Nov. 3: Alabama Crimson Tide, Oregon Ducks
Weekend of Nov. 10: Texas A&M Aggies
Weekend of Nov. 17: Baylor Bears
Weekend of Nov. 24: Penn State Nittany Lions

Mark Anderson Las Vegas Review-Journal Mountain West
Lee Barfknecht Omaha World-Herald Big Ten
Kirk Bohls Austin American-Statesman WAC
Jimmy Burch Fort Worth Star-Telegram Big 12
Jon Gold CBS Sports Pac-12
Vahe Gregorian St. Louis Post-Dispatch SEC
Tommy Hicks Mobile Press-Register Sun Belt
Ron Higgins Memphis Commercial Appeal Conference USA
John Silver Manchester Journal Inquirer Big East
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications National
Greg Wallace Anderson Independent-Mail SEC
John Wagner Toledo Blade Mid-American