Football Writers Association of America Sept. 5, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Weekly honor marks its tenth season
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) The 2011 season marks the 10th straight season that the Football Writers Association of America will present a National Team of the Week. Sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl since 2005, the recipient will be announced each Monday during the season.

With games being played on Sunday and Monday of this holiday weekend, the first Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week this season will be unveiled on Tuesday, Sept. 6.

Since 2002, a national committee of FWAA members votes on the winner,  and this season the association's prestigious All-America committee will once again provide the voting panel.

"The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl is proud to support the National Team of the Week," Fiesta Bowl board chairman Duane Woods said. "We're grateful for the FWAA's partnership and the hard work of our selectors. We're looking forward to another great college football season."

Last season, seven conferences were represented among the 12 recipients. For a complete list of all-time recipients, visit the FWAA website.

Founded in 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted seven games that have decided the college football national championship, including four Bowl Championship Series title games. This season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will be played on Jan. 2, 2012, at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., and the Insight Bowl will be played on Dec. 30, 2011, at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Ariz.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

Related link:
All-Time FWAA National Teams of the Week

Kirk Bohls Austin American-Statesman Big 12
Tommy Hicks Mobile Press-Register Sun Belt
Mike Huguenin ACC
Tony Jones Salt Lake Tribune WAC
Tom Kensler Denver Post Pac-12
Iliana Limon Orlando Sentinel C-USA
Kelly Lyell Fort Collins Coloradoan Mountain West
Brett McMurphy Big East
Randy Peterson Des Moines Register Big Ten
Zach Silva Toledo Blade MAC
Andy Staples SEC
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications National