Football Writers Association of America July 21, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Legends Award to be presented for 5th time in 2011
Bookmark and Share  

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) – The Charlotte Touchdown Club, in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America, proudly announce Jack Youngblood as recipient of the 2011 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, which recognizes the "best of the best" of defensive football players from the past 40 years.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe award will be presented formally during the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet on December 12th at The Westin Hotel.

After a distinguished college career at the University of Florida, Youngblood was drafted by the Los Angeles Rams as the 20th player in the first round in the 1971 draft. During his 14-season playing career, Youngblood earned numerous awards and a reputation for durability. Youngblood was three-time the winner of Most Valuable Player for the Rams and significantly contributed to the team’s trip to the 1980 Super Bowl against the Pittsburgh Steelers. Youngblood played in over 200 games for the Rams while missing only one game.

"My greatest thrill from football definitely came after playing five championship games and winning the NFC championship that put us in the Super Bowl. It was awesome, I was always wondering when it was our time and when we would stop being the bridesmaids," said Youngblood.

Youngblood has stayed active with football since his retirement in 1985 and is still working with the league and players association, helping players with traumatic brain injury. When asked what motivates Youngblood to stay so involved in charitable organizations, he simply says it is one of his callings. "When much is given, much is required," he said.

"I was very surprised when I found out I was chosen as the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award. There are so many qualified players out there who deserve this award too. It really makes you smile," Youngblood said.

Youngblood joins a growing list of distinguished Bronko Legends Award winners including Bubba Smith and Alan Page in 2007, Ted Hendricks in 2008, Roger Wehrli in 2009 and Mike McCoy in 2010.

The Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by Florida East Coast Railway, was initially presented in 2007 to players from the 1966 season, the first season the FWAA All-American Teams were separated into defense and offense.

"Jack Youngblood certainly was a terrific defensive player both in college and the professional ranks," said Steve Richardson, executive director of the FWAA. "The FWAA felt he was worthy of All-America status during his college playing days at Florida, and he certainly went on to distinguish himself in the NFL. It is an honor to have a player of his caliber at the Bronko Nagurski banquet in Charlotte. The Legends Award has added an important component to the Bronko Nagurski Award, recognizing those players who were the best on the defensive side of the ball before this award was inaugurated in 1993."

Added James R. Hertwig, President of Florida East Coast Railway: "Jack Youngblood’s contributions as a football player and his numerous charitable activities make him an ideal recipient for this year’s Bronko Nagurski Legends Award."