Football Writers Association of America July 21, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
College Football Live to unveil 10 preseason lists Bookmark and Share

BRISTOL, Conn. (ESPN) The watch lists for 10 of the major collegiate football awards, including the Outland Trophy, will be announced on College Football Live on ESPN Monday, August 3 through Friday, Aug. 14 at 3:30 p.m. ET each day.

For the two weeks, each of the awards presented at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show (Dec. 10 at 7 p.m. on ESPN) will be highlighted during the show, featuring the contending outstanding student-athletes. This marks the first time such a series of announcements has taken place on ESPN.

The watch lists will be announced as follows:

Day, Date Award
Monday, Aug. 3 Davey O'Brien Award (Best Quarterback)
Tuesday, Aug. 4 Doak Walker Award (Best Running Back)
Wednesday, Aug. 5 Ray Guy Award (Best Punter)
Thursday, Aug. 6 Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defensive Back)
Friday, Aug. 7 Walter Camp Award (Top Overall Player)
Monday, Aug. 10 Fred Biletnikoff Award (Best Receiver)
Tuesday, Aug. 11 Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman)
Wednesday, Aug. 12 Lou Groza Award (Best Kicker)
Thursday, Aug. 13 Chuck Bednarik Award (Best Defensive Player)
Friday, Aug. 14 Maxwell Award (Best All-Around Player)

The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards will be televised Thursday, Dec. 10, from 7-9 p.m. on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit, features the live presentation of nine awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Red Carpet Show will air on ESPNU before the awards show.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. The Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award. Alabama's Andre Smith won the 2008 Outland Trophy.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,100 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

The Outland Trophy is a proud member of the National College Football Awards Association. The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,