Football Writers Association of America July 17, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Former Mizzou All-American to be honored Dec. 7 Bookmark and Share

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) – The Charlotte Touchdown Club announced today that Roger Wehrli has been named recipient of the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, which recognizes the "best of the best" of college defensive football players from the past 40 years.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe award, selected annually by the Football Writers Association of America, will be presented during the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet scheduled for Mon., Dec. 7 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C.

Wehrli was an All-American at the University of Missouri. Wehrli is a member of the University of Missouri Hall of Fame and also was selected to take part in the 50-year Anniversary All-Senior Bowl Team. Wehrli was taken in the first round of the NFL draft and played for the St. Louis Cardinals from 1969-82.

"This is a big thrill for me," Wehrli said. "You look back after being out of football and the limelight, and then realize how much fun playing was. The past few years have been great for me with the induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame three years ago and now this. It’s a great honor," he said. "In addition, seeing Ted Hendricks win last year makes winning this year even more special, since he and I came up during the same time and are such good friends," Wehrli said.

The 2009 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, presented by CSX Intermodal, considers players from the 1969 season. All The Legends Award winners are selected from the first team All-America aquad for a specific year. To view FWAA All-America teams, go to

James R. Hertwig, president of CSX Intermodal, said "Every year I look forward to being a part of such an inspirational and well-regarded event. On behalf of CSX Intermodal, we are proud to sponsor the annual Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, which recognizes the talented defensive players that helped shape the course of college football." He added that it is a pleasure to continue to work with the Charlotte Touchdown Club to honor the key contributors from college football’s rich 40 year history.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA defensive football player. The Charlotte Touchdown Club also honors local college and high school football players. Over the last decade, the Club has raised nearly $900,000 for student athletic scholarships throughout the Charlotte Metro Area.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a 501(c)-3 non-profit organization founded in 1991 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate and professional football in the Charlotte, North Carolina region. The Club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy award finalists will be announced in mid November with the award presented on Dec. 7 at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet in Charlotte.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,100 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.