Football Writers Association of America Aug. 4, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Three writers added to 14-person group

DALLAS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America is announcing the addition of three members to its 2008 All-America Committee, which selects the 25-man team and winners of the Bronko Nagurski and Outland trophies.

Phil Stukenborg of the Memphis Commercial Appeal, Chadd Cripe of the Idaho Statesman and Frank Coyle of have been added to the committee, which convenes twice in November.

The FWAA has chosen an All-America Team annually since the 1944 season. It is the second longest continuously-published team in major college football.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the FWAA All-America Team, contact executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Bob Asmussen Champaign News-Gazette Big Ten
Frank Coyle Draft Insiders National
Chadd Cripe Idaho Statesman Western Athletic
Dennis Dodd Independents
Joseph Duarte Houston Chronicle Big 12 (South)
Antonya English St. Petersburg Times Southeastern (East)
Maureen Fulton Toledo Blade Mid-American
Bob Holt Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Southeastern (West), Sun Belt
Tom Kensler Denver Post Big 12 (North), Mountain West
Lenn Robbins New York Post Big East
George Schroeder Eugene Register-Guard Pacific-10
Phil Steele Phil Steele Magazine National
Paul Strelow The State Atlantic Coast
Phil Stukenborg Memphis Commercial Appeal Conference USA