Football Writers Association of America Jan. 8, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Tigers recover from slow start in BCS title game

NEW ORLEANS (FWAA) Following their 38-24 win over Ohio State in the BCS Championship Game, the LSU Tigers (12-2) were presented the 2007 Grantland Rice Trophy.

FWAA president Ron Higgins presents the Grantland Rice Trophy to LSU coach Les Miles.

Matt Flynn threw four touchdown passes as LSU reeled off 31 straight points after falling behind 10-0 in the game. The win culminated a season in which the Tigers lost two games both in overtime before finishing strong by winning the Southeastern Conference championship and now the BCS title game.

The Grantland Rice Trophy has been presented by the Football Writers Association of America to college football's national champion since 1954. Named for the legendary sportswriter, the Grantland Rice Trophy was the first national championship award to be presented after college football postseason.

This the first time LSU has been awarded the FWAA national championship trophy and the second straight season a team from the SEC has earned the award.

The winner of the 2007 trophy was voted on by a panel of FWAA board members, past presidents and national beat writers from the association membership. In the previous five seasons, a poll of the nation's top 16 teams had decided the FWAA national champion.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of nearly 1,000 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the Grantland Rice Trophy, contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Related link:
All-time Grantland Rice Trophy winners