Football Writers Association of America June 12, 2007
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
47 players get early consideration for nation's top interior lineman

DALLAS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America has announced the 2007 Outland Trophy Watch List. Forty-one standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and the winner.

The 2007 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 6 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be in January 2008 in Omaha, Neb.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946. It is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. Wisconsin offensive tackle Joe Thomas won the 2006 Outland Trophy.

Nebraska has more Outland Trophy winners than another school. Seven Cornhuskers have claimed the trophy, with Nebraska center Dave Rimington being the only player to win it twice (in 1981 and '82).

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Player, School Pos. Cl. Hometown
Jeff Akeroyd, Houston OT Sr. Lubbock, Texas
Sete Aulai, BYU C Sr. Carson, Calif.
Sam Baker, USC OT Sr. Tustin, Calif.
Kirk Barton, Ohio State OT Sr. Massillon, Ohio
Alex Boone, Ohio State OT Jr. Lakewood, Ohio
Ryan Clady, Boise State OT Jr. Rialto, Calif.
Robert Conley, Utah G Jr. LaMarque, Texas
Kyle Cunningham, Louisiana-Monroe OT Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla.
Dan Davis, Connecticut DT Sr. Planfield, N.J.
Glenn Dorsey, LSU DT Sr. Gonzales, La.
Franklin Dunbar, Middle Tennessee OT Jr. Waycross, Ga.
Ryan Durand, Syracuse G Jr. Leominster, Mass.
King Dunlap, Auburn OT Sr. Brentwood, Tenn.
Sedrick Ellis, USC DT Sr. Chino, Calif.
Andre Fluellen, Florida State DT Sr. Cartersville, Ga.
Eric Foster, Rutgers DT Sr. Homestead, Fla.
Adrian Grady, Louisville DT Jr. Nichollsville, Ga.
Dallas Griffin, Texas C Sr. Katy, Texas
Antron Harper, Navy C Sr. Eastman, Ga.
Robby Heos, Rice G Sr. Pearland, Texas
Tony Hills, Texas OT Sr. Houston, Texas
Matt Hines, Nevada DT Sr. Modesto, Calif.
Steve Justice, Wake Forest C Sr. Port Orange, Fla.
Adam Kraus, Michigan G Sr. New Orleans, La.
Robbie Krutilla, Western Michigan C Sr. Summit, Ill.
Doug Legursky, Marshall C Sr. Beckley, W.V.
Kory Lichtensteiger, Bowling Green C Sr. Van Wert, Ohio
Matty Lindner, TCU G Sr. Comfort, Texas
Derek Lokey, Texas DT Sr. Denton, Texas
Jake Long, Michigan OT Sr. Lapeer, Mich.
Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas C Jr. Little Rock, Ark.
Alex Mack, California C Jr. Santa Barbara, Calif.
Michael Oher, Ole Miss OT Jr. Memphis, Tenn.
Frank Okam, Texas DT Sr. Dallas, Texas
Jeremy Perry, Oregon State G Jr. Hau'ula, Hawaii
Mike Pollak, Arizona State C Sr. Tempe, Ariz.
Barry Richardson, Clemson OT Sr. Mount Pleasant, S.C.
Matt Slauson, Nebraska OT Jr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
Andre Smith, Alabama OT So. Birmingham, Ala.
Pedro Sosa, Rutgers OT Sr. Union City, N.J.
Ryan Stanchek, West Virginia OT Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
John Sullivan, Notre Dame C Sr. Old Greenwich, Conn.
Cody Wallace, Texas A&M C Sr. Cuero, Texas
Ryan Wendell, Fresno State G Sr. Diamond Bar, Calif.
Chris Williams, Vanderbilt OT Sr. Glynn, La.
Eric Wood, Louisville C Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Jeremy Zuttah, Rutgers OT Sr. Edison, N.J.
Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration
Candidates may be added or removed during the season

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the Outland Trophy, go to the official website,, or contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Mark Blaudschun Boston Globe ACC
Chip Brown The Dallas Morning News Big 12
Bob Clark Eugene Register-Guard Pacific-10
Buddy Davis Ruston Leader WAC
Dennis Dodd MAC, Independents
Bob Holt Arkansas Democrat-Gazette SEC, Sun Belt
Steve Irvine Birmingham News Conference USA
Michael Lewis Salt Lake Tribune Mountain West
Matt Markey Toledo Blade Big Ten
Brett McMurphy Tampa Tribune Big East