Football Writers Association of America June 21, 2007
For Immediate Release
Contact: John Rocco
Former All-American to host annual event

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America officially announce Spencer Tillman, "College Football Today" analyst for CBS Sports, as Master of Ceremonies for the 2007 Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet, scheduled for Dec. 3, 2007.

"It is truly an honor to be apart of the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet. He is the epitome of success. His excellence on both sides of the ball makes him one of the greatest players ever to play the game of football at any level," said Tillman.

Spencer Tillman joined CBS Sports in 1999 as lead studio analyst for "College Football Today," the CBS Television Network's pre-game studio show. Tillman, who had served as WABC-TV's sports anchor in New York from 1997 to 1999 and spent 10 years as a sports anchor for KPRC-TV Houston, is paired with Tim Brando at the "College Football Today" desk.

"Spencer Tillman’s career as an All-American running back for the 1985 Oklahoma Sooners National Championship Team coupled with his impeccable reputation as a sportscaster for CBS Sports will make this year’s Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet, an evening to remember." said John Rocco, Executive Director of the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Tillman, an All-American running back for Oklahoma University, won several awards during his playing career, including UPI Player of the Year in the Big Eight Conference in 1982, Big Eight Football Newcomer of the Year in 1983 and MVP of the 1987 Orange Bowl. He placed fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1983.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA defensive football player. The Charlotte Touchdown Club also honors local college and high school football players and over the last decade has raised nearly $775,000 for student athletic scholarships throughout the Charlotte Metro Area.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization founded in 1991 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, North Carolina region. The Club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding Citizenship, Scholarship, Sportsmanship, and Leadership of area athletes and coaches.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy award finalists will be announced on Nov. 13th, with the award presented on Dec. 3rd at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet in Charlotte. For reservations call 704-347-2918.