Football Writers Association of America Nov. 14, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Buckeyes, Wolverines set for Saturday showdown

DALLAS (FWAA) The Ohio State Buckeyes and Michigan Wolverines continued to hold down the top two spots in the Football Writers Association of America's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll while USC vaulted to No. 3 in the wake of losses by Louisville, Texas and Auburn.

The FWAA debuts the Grantland Rice
Super 16 Blog. Check out how each pollster
voted and why at

Ohio State, a five-time winner of the Grantland Rice Trophy as the national champion as chosen by the FWAA, received all 16 first-place votes. Michigan (11-0) received all 16 second-place votes as the two prepare for their battle for the Big Ten title Saturday in Columbus.

Although Tennessee fell from the rankings, the Southeastern Conference continues to boast four of the 16 ranked teams. Florida, up to No. 4, is the highest-ranked SEC team. Arkansas (No. 5), LSU (No. 10) and Auburn (No. 16) are also in the rankings.

Rutgers, one of four unbeatens after its dramatic 28-25 win over previously unbeaten Louisville, moved from No. 12 to No. 6 and is among three Big East schools among the top nine. West Virginia is No. 8 and Louisville is ranked ninth. Boise State, at 10-0, moved up one spot to No. 13.

Upstart Wake Forest (9-1) moved into the rankings for the first time at No. 14 and is the only ACC team in the poll. Though Texas fell eight spots to No. 12 after a loss at Kansas State, Oklahoma (8-2) joined the Longhorns in the poll at No. 15 to give the Big 12 a pair of ranked teams. California fell along with Tennessee from the rankings.

The complete poll through games of Nov. 12 is as follows:

Rk. School [1st] Conference W-L Pts. Pvs. Upcoming game
1. Ohio State (16) Big Ten 11-0 256 1 11/18 vs. No. 2 Michigan
2. Michigan Big Ten 11-0 240 2 11/18 at No. 1 Ohio State
3. USC Pac-10 8-1 211 7 11/18 vs. California
4. Florida SEC 9-1 197 5 11/18 vs. Western Carolina
5. Arkansas SEC 9-1 183 10 11/18 at Mississippi State
6. Rutgers Big East 9-0 174 12 11/18 at Cincinnati
7. Notre Dame Independent 9-1 169 9 11/18 vs. Army
8. West Virginia Big East 8-1 114 11 11/16 at Pittsburgh
9. Louisville Big East 8-1 112 3 11/18 vs. South Florida
10. LSU SEC 8-2 109 13 11/18 vs. Ole Miss
11. Wisconsin Big Ten 10-1 108 15 11/18 vs. Buffalo
12. Texas Big 12 9-2 90 4 11/24 vs. Texas A&M
13. Boise State WAC 10-0 65 14 11/18 vs. Utah State
14. Wake Forest ACC 9-1 60 - 11/18 vs. Virginia Tech
15. Oklahoma Big 12 8-2 34 - 11/18 at Baylor
16. Auburn SEC 9-2 22 6 11/18 at Alabama
Also receiving votes: California (8-2) 21, BYU (8-2) 5, Georgia Tech (8-2) 4, Boston College (8-2) 1, Tennessee (7-3) 1.
Dropped out: California (8), Tennessee (16).
By conference: SEC (4), Big East (3), Big Ten (3), Big 12 (2), ACC (1), Independents (1), Pac-10 (1), WAC (1).

The Grantland Rice Trophy has been presented to the national champion in college football since 1954. Named in honor of the legendary sportswriter who passed away in 1954, the trophy was the first national championship award to be presented following college football's traditional post-season.

In 2002, the FWAA introduced the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll to determine the association's national champion. The 16 regionally-balanced voters will not present weekly rankings and will make their ballots public. For the first time, those ballots will be also posted online at, an interactive weblog.

In addition to the poll, the 16 pollsters also decide the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week. For the second straight season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will take part in presenting the weekly honor. Since 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted five games that have decided the college football national championship, including two Bowl Championship Series title games. The 2007 game will be played on Jan. 1. The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, along with the Tostitos BCS Championship Game, moves to the new stadium in Glendale, Ariz., this season.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

2006 Grantland Rice Super 16 Polls (No. 1 team)
Aug. 31 (Ohio State)
Oct. 17 (Ohio State)
Oct. 24 (Ohio State)
Oct. 31 (Ohio State)
Nov. 7 (Ohio State)
Nov. 14 (Ohio State)
Nov. 21 (Ohio State)
Nov. 28 (Ohio State)
Jan. 9 (Florida)

Mark Anderson
Las Vegas Review Journal
Olin Buchanan
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald
Kalani Simpson
Honolulu Star-Bulletin