Football Writers Association of America Oct. 31, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
USC falls six spots after loss at Oregon State

DALLAS (FWAA) The Ohio State Buckeyes, now 9-0 after after a 44-0 whipping of Minnesota, remain the top ranked team in the Football Writers Association of America's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll.

The FWAA debuts the Grantland Rice
Super 16 Blog. Check out how each pollster
voted and why at

Ohio State, a five-time winner of the Grantland Rice Trophy as the national champion as chosen by the FWAA, received all 16 first-place votes for the second straight week.

The Big Ten has the top two ranked teams as Michigan remained at No. 2 after holding off Northwestern, 17-3. West Virginia, at 7-0 and getting set to face fellow Big East unbeaten Louisville, moved up to No. 3 and Texas also moved up a spot with its 35-31 comeback win over Texas Tech. After having its 27-game Pac-10 winning streak snapped at Oregon State, USC dropped six spots to No. 9.

The Southeastern Conference continues to boast five of the 16 ranked teams. Florida, now at No. 5, is the highest-ranked SEC team. Auburn (No. 6), Tennessee (No. 8), Arkansas (No. 12) and LSU (No. 14) are also in the rankings.

Wisconsin replaces Clemson in the poll and is ranked No. 16. The Badgers are the third Big Ten team to appear in the FWAA rankings.

California moves up to No 10 and is the second Pac-10 team to be ranked, while Boise State keeps pace for the WAC at at No. 15.

The complete poll through games of Oct. 29 is as follows:

Rk. School [1st] Conference W-L Pts. Pvs. Upcoming game
1. Ohio State [16] Big Ten 9-0 256 1 11/4 vs. Illinois
2. Michigan Big Ten 9-0 236 2 11/2 vs. Ball State
3. West Virginia Big East 7-0 219 4 11/2 at No. 7 Louisville
4. Texas Big 12 8-1 189 5 11/4 vs. Oklahoma State
5. Florida SEC 7-1 174 7 11/2 at Vanderbilt
6. Auburn SEC 8-1 163 6 11/4 vs. Arkansas State
7. Louisville Big East 7-0 162 8 11/2 vs. No. 3 West Virginia
8. Tennessee SEC 7-1 150 9 11/4 vs. No. 14 LSU
9. USC Pac-10 6-1 125 3 11/4 at Stanford
10. California Pac-10 7-1 110 t12 11/4 vs. UCLA
11. Notre Dame Independent 7-1 101 11 11/4 vs. North Carolina
12. Arkansas SEC 7-1 96 t12 11/4 at South Carolina
13. Rutgers Big East 8-0 59 14 11/9 vs. No. 7 Louisville
14. LSU SEC 6-2 49 15 11/4 at No. 8 Tennessee
15. Boise State WAC 8-0 40 16 11/1 vs. Fresno State
16. Wisconsin Big Ten 8-1 22 - 11/4 vs. Penn State
Also receiving votes: Boston College (7-1) 15, Clemson (7-2) 5, Georgia Tech (6-2) 2, Oklahoma (6-2) 1, Texas A&M (8-1) 1, Wake Forest (7-1) 1.
Dropped out: Clemson (10).
By conference: SEC (5), Big East (3), Big Ten (3), Pac-10 (2), Big 12 (1), Independents (1), WAC (1).

The Grantland Rice Trophy has been presented to the national champion in college football since 1954. Named in honor of the legendary sportswriter who passed away in 1954, the trophy was the first national championship award to be presented following college football's traditional post-season.

In 2002, the FWAA introduced the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll to determine the association's national champion. The 16 regionally-balanced voters will not present weekly rankings and will make their ballots public. For the first time, those ballots will be also posted online at, an interactive weblog.

In addition to the poll, the 16 pollsters also decide the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week. For the second straight season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will take part in presenting the weekly honor. Since 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted five games that have decided the college football national championship, including two Bowl Championship Series title games. The 2007 game will be played on Jan. 1. The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, along with the Tostitos BCS Championship Game, moves to the new stadium in Glendale, Ariz., this season.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

2006 Grantland Rice Super 16 Polls (No. 1 team)
Aug. 31 (Ohio State)
Oct. 17 (Ohio State)
Oct. 24 (Ohio State)
Oct. 31 (Ohio State)
Nov. 7 (Ohio State)
Nov. 14 (Ohio State)
Nov. 21 (Ohio State)
Nov. 28 (Ohio State)
Jan. 9 (Florida)

Mark Anderson
Las Vegas Review Journal
Olin Buchanan
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald
Kalani Simpson
Honolulu Star-Bulletin