Football Writers Association of America Oct. 17, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Unbeaten Buckeyes garner 15 of 16 first-place votes

DALLAS (FWAA) The Ohio State Buckeyes, off to a 7-0 start after opening the season as the preseason No. 1, remain the top ranked team in the Football Writers Association of America's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll.

The FWAA debuts the Grantland Rice
Super 16 Blog with the 2006 preseason
poll. Check out how each pollster
voted and why at

Ohio State, a five-time winner of the Grantland Rice Trophy as the national champion as chosen by the FWAA, has yet to falter in gaining 15 of the 16 first-place votes. West Virginia, at 6-0, received the only other No. 1 vote.

While the Buckeyes lay claim to the top spot in the first regular-season rankings released by the FWAA, it's conference rival Michigan that has moved up to No. 2 from the No. 12 spot in the preseason poll.

Though the Big Ten has the top two teams in the rankings, the Southeastern Conference boasts five of the 16 ranked teams. Florida, at No. 6, is the highest-ranked SEC team. Auburn (No. 8), Tennessee (No. 9), Arkansas (No. 13) and LSU (No. 15) show the SEC's strength at the midway point of the season.

Three other conferences each have a pair of teams in the poll, including the Big East as No. 7 Louisville joins West Virginia in the poll. USC and California represent the Pac-10 and ACC foes Clemson and Georgia Tech - who play each other this week - are among the ranked teams.

Texas is the lone ranked team from the Big 12, while Boise State joins the rankings at No. 16 and is the only team from the WAC in the poll. Notre Dame, No. 2 in the preseason poll, drops to No. 10.

The complete poll through games of Oct. 15 is as follows:

Rk. School [1st] Conference W-L Pts. Pvs. Upcoming game
1. Ohio State [15] Big Ten 7-0 255 1 10/21 vs. Indiana
2. Michigan Big Ten 7-0 227 12 10/21 vs. Iowa
3. USC Pac-10 6-0 218 5 10/28 at Oregon State
4. West Virginia [1] Big East 6-0 210 6 10/20 at Connecticut
5. Texas Big 12 6-1 182 3 10/21 at Nebraska
6. Florida SEC 6-1 158 8 10/28 vs. Georgia
7. Louisville Big East 6-0 155 11 10/21 at Syracuse
8. Auburn SEC 6-1 153 4 10/21 vs. Tulane
9. Tennessee SEC 5-1 130 - 10/21 vs. Alabama
10. Notre Dame Independent 5-1 105 2 10/21 vs. UCLA
11. California Pac-10 6-1 104 9 10/21 vs. Washington
12. Clemson ACC 6-1 60 - 10/21 vs. No. 14 Georgia Tech
13. Arkansas SEC 5-1 46 - 10/21 vs. Ole Miss
14. Georgia Tech ACC 5-1 43 - 10/21 at No. 12 Clemson
15. LSU SEC 5-2 30 7 10/21 vs. Fresno State
16. Boise State WAC 7-0 28 - 10/21 at Idaho
Also receiving votes: Oregon (5-1) 23, Rutgers (6-0) 16, Wisconsin (6-1) 9, Boston College (5-1) 8, Nebraska (6-1) 8, Missouri (6-1) 4, Texas A&M (6-1) 4.
Dropped out: Florida State (10), Miami (13), Oklahoma (14), Iowa (15), Georgia (16).
By conference: SEC (5), Big East (2), Big Ten (2), Pac-10 (2), ACC (2), Big 12 (1), Independents (1), WAC (1).
Note: Previous ranking is from the preseason poll

The Grantland Rice Trophy has been presented to the national champion in college football since 1954. Named in honor of the legendary sportswriter who passed away in 1954, the trophy was the first national championship award to be presented following college football's traditional post-season.

In 2002, the FWAA introduced the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll to determine the association's national champion. The 16 regionally-balanced voters will not present weekly rankings and will make their ballots public. For the first time, those ballots will be also posted online at, an interactive weblog.

In addition to the poll, the 16 pollsters also decide the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week. For the second straight season, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will take part in presenting the weekly honor. Since 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl has hosted five games that have decided the college football national championship, including two Bowl Championship Series title games. The 2007 game will be played on Jan. 1. The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, along with the Tostitos BCS Championship Game, moves to the new stadium in Glendale, Ariz., this season.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

2006 Grantland Rice Super 16 Polls (No. 1 team)
Aug. 31 (Ohio State)
Oct. 17 (Ohio State)
Oct. 24 (Ohio State)
Oct. 31 (Ohio State)
Nov. 7 (Ohio State)
Nov. 14 (Ohio State)
Nov. 21 (Ohio State)
Nov. 28 (Ohio State)
Jan. 9 (Florida)

Mark Anderson
Las Vegas Review Journal
Olin Buchanan
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald
Kalani Simpson
Honolulu Star-Bulletin