Football Writers Association of America June 19, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
54 players get early consideration for nation's top interior lineman

DALLAS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America has announced the 2006 Outland Trophy Watch List. Fifty-four standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best offensive or defensive lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man team and picks three Outland Trophy finalists.

The 2005 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 7 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation, is set for Jan. 11, 2007, in Omaha, Neb.

Minnesota center Greg Eslinger won the 2005 Outland Trophy. He was the third player from Minnesota to win the award after Tom Brown (1960) and Bobby Bell (1962). He is only the third center to claim major-college football's third-oldest award.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946. It is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century.

Nebraska has more Outland Trophy winners than another school. Seven Cornhuskers have claimed the trophy, with Nebraska center Dave Rimington being the only player to win it twice (in 1981 and '82).

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Player, School Pos. Cl. Hometown
Will Arnold, LSU G Jr. Gloster, Miss.
Sam Baker, USC OT Jr. Tustin, Calif.
Kirk Barton, Ohio State OT Jr. Massillon, Ohio
George Batiste, Southern Miss OL Sr. Avondale, La.
Josh Beekman, Boston College G Sr. Amsterdam, N.Y.
Justin Blalock, Texas OT Sr. Plano, Texas
Conrad Bolston, Maryland DT Sr. Burtonsville, Md.
Levi Brown, Penn State OT Sr. Norfolk, Va.
Andrew Browning, Boise State DT Sr. Lake Oswego, Ore.
Ryan Clady, Boise State OT So. Rialto, Calif.
Brent Curvey, Iowa State DL Sr. Houston, Texas
Brian Daniels, Colorado OL Sr. Evergreen, Colo.
Tim Duckworth, Auburn G Sr. Taylorsville, Miss.
Mark Fenton, Colorado C Sr. Inglewood, Calif.
Doug Free, Northern Illinois OT Sr. Manitowoc, Wis.
Roman Fry, Clemson OL Sr. Ironton, Ohio
Howie Fuimaono, UNLV DL Sr. Chula Vista, Calif.
Rhema Fuller, Connecticut DT Sr. Cocoa, Fla.
Jared Gaither, Maryland OT So. White Plains, Md.
Ryan Harris, Notre Dame OL Sr. St. Paul, Minn.
Daniel Inman, Georgia OT Sr. Hope Mills, N.C.
Tanner Jenkins, Arkansas State C Sr. Baton Rouge, La.
Chase Johnson, Wyoming OT Sr. Loveland, Colo.
Ryan Kalil, USC C Sr. Corona, Calif.
Jake Kuresa, BYU OL Sr. Millville, Utah
Jake Long, Michigan OL Sr. Lapeer, Mich.
Enoka Lucas, Oregon C Sr. Honolulu, Hawaii
Kurt Mann, Nebraska OL Sr. Grand Island, Neb.
Brandon Mebane, California DT Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Remel Meekins, Rutgers DL Sr. Westwood, N.J.
Dan Mozes, West Virginia OL Sr. Washington, Pa.
David Ochoa, Kansas OL Sr. Houston, Texas
Jeff Perrett, Tulsa OT Sr. Taber, Alberta
Jeremy Perry, Oregon State OL So. Laie, Hawaii
Quinn Pitcock, Ohio State DT Sr. Piqua, Ohio
Kurt Quarterman, Louisville OL Sr. Albany, Ga.
Manuel Ramirez, Texas Tech OL Sr. Sugarland, Texas
SirVincent Rogers, Houston OL Jr. Jasper, Texas
Samson Satele, Hawaii OL Sr. Kaneohe, Hawaii
Arron Sears, Tennessee OT Sr. Russellville, Ala.
Jeremy Sheffey, West Virginia G Sr. Catlettsburg, Ky.
Brian Stamper, Vanderbilt OT Sr. Windermere, Fla.
Herbert Taylor, TCU OT Sr. Houston, Texas
Shannon Tevaga, UCLA G Jr. Paramount, Calif.
Joe Thomas, Wisconsin OL Sr. Brookfield, Wis.
Marcus Thomas, Florida DT Sr. Jacksonville, Fla.
Robert Turner, New Mexico G Sr. Austin, Texas
Kelly Talavou, Utah DL Sr. Santa Ana, Calif.
Tavo Tupola, Utah OL Sr. Kahuku, Hawaii
Steve Vallos, Wake Forest OT Sr. Boardman, Ohio
Greg Wafford, Kansas State OL Sr. Lancaster, Texas
Theodric Watson, South Florida OL Sr. St. Petersburg, Fla.
Eric Wood, Louisville OL So. Cincinnati, Ohio
Kyle Young, Fresno State C Sr. Fallbrook, Calif.
Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration
Candidates may be added or deleted during the season

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the Outland Trophy, go to the official website,, or contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Eric Bailey Tulsa World Conference USA
Chad Cripe Idaho Statesman WAC
Scott Ferrell Shreveport Times SEC, Sun Belt
Robert Gagliardi Wyoming Tribune-Eagle Mountain West
Eric Hansen South Bend Tribune MAC, Notre Dame
Tom Luicci Newark Star-Ledger Big East
Andrew Logue Des Moines Register Big Ten
Jeff Metcalfe Arizona Republic Pac-10
George Schroeder Daily Oklahoman Big 12
Norm Wood Newport News Daily Press ACC