Sept. 3: TCU Sept. 10: LSU Sept. 17: Michigan State Sept. 24: South Florida Oct. 1: Alabama Oct. 8: Penn State Oct. 15: USC Oct. 22: Northwestern Oct. 29: South Carolina Nov. 5: Miami Nov. 12: South Carolina Nov. 19: Georgia Tech Nov. 26: Nevada
Football Writers Association of America Oct. 24, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Wildcats run off 49 unanswered points in rout of Michigan State

DALLAS (FWAA) With their 49-14 win at Michigan State, the Northwestern Wildcats are the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, as selected by the pollsters of the FWAA's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll for games of the weekend of Oct. 22.

Quarterback Brett Basanez completed 24-of-30 passes for 331 yards and two touchdowns and ran for two other scores and Tyrell Sutton ran for 116 yards a pair of scores for the Wildcats. Demetrius Eaton added an 86-yard fumble return that gave Northwestern the lead for good in the second quarter.

The margin of victory was the largest for Northwestern in a Big Ten game away from home since in a 41-0 win at Wisconsin on Nov. 6, 1943.

"I'm not sure three or four weeks ago many people would have bet on this, but all that mattered was a handful of guys believed in it," said head coach Randy Walker after the game. "We've just got to keep getting one week better, and that's been our goal through the course of the season."

The other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Oct. 22:

Army (1-6): Carlton Jones ran for 162 yards and two touchdowns as the Black Knights ended the nation's longest losing streak at 11 games with a 20-0 win over Akron. It was Army's first shutout since 1993, a span of 142 games.

Texas (7-0): Vince Young overcame two early interceptions, throwing for 239 yards and two touchdowns and running for a pair of scores, as the Longhorns hammered Texas Tech, 52-17.

The FWAA has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the first season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

The 16 pollsters of the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll decide the weekly honor. Each Monday during the 2005 college football season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Bowl National Team of the Week through Nov. 28.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll will be released each Monday afternoon from Oct. 10 through Dec. 5 and then following the BCS championship game in the Rose Bowl. The top-ranked team in the final poll will be awarded the Grantland Rice Trophy as the FWAA's national champion. The FWAA has awarded the trophy each season since 1954. USC is the two-time defending FWAA national champion and was ranked No. 1 in the initial 2005 poll.

Since 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and Tempe, Ariz., have hosted five games that have decided the college football national championship, including two Bowl Championship Series title games. The 2006 game will be played on Jan. 2 and will be the final game played at Sun Devil Stadium. The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, along with the BCS Championship Game, will move to the new Multi-Purpose Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., beginning in 2007.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

2005 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 3: TCU Horned Frogs
Weekend of Sept. 10: LSU Tigers
Weekend of Sept. 17: Michigan State Spartans
Weekend of Sept. 24: South Florida Bulls
Weekend of Oct. 1: Alabama Crimson Tide
Weekend of Oct. 8: Penn State Nittany Lions
Weekend of Oct. 15: USC Trojans
Weekend of Oct. 22: Northwestern Wildcats
Weekend of Oct. 29: South Carolina Gamecocks
Weekend of Nov. 5: Miami Hurricanes
Weekend of Nov. 12: South Carolina Gamecocks
Weekend of Nov. 19: Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
Weekend of Nov. 26: Nevada Wolf Pack
Andy Bagnato
Arizona Republic
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Curtis
College Sports TV
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Chad Hartley
Reno Gazette-Journal
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald