Sept. 3: TCU Sept. 10: LSU Sept. 17: Michigan State Sept. 24: South Florida Oct. 1: Alabama Oct. 8: Penn State Oct. 15: USC Oct. 22: Northwestern Oct. 29: South Carolina Nov. 5: Miami Nov. 12: South Carolina Nov. 19: Georgia Tech Nov. 26: Nevada
Football Writers Association of America Oct. 10, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Nittany Lions remain unbeaten, extend win streak to eight

DALLAS (FWAA) – With their 17-10 win over Ohio State, the Penn State Nittany Lions are the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, as selected by the pollsters of the FWAA's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll for games of the weekend of Oct. 8.

Penn State (6-0) scored two touchdowns in a 2:25 span of the second quarter and held off Ohio State to win its eighth consecutive game, dating back to last season. The Nittany Lions have the nation’s third longest winning streak behind USC (27) and Texas (12).

The Nittany Lions held Ohio State to 230 total yards and forced two turnovers in front of a rain-soaked crowd of 109,839 in Happy Valley to record coach Joe Paterno's 349th career win.

"I've been as conservative as I could in evaluating my football team," Paterno said. "I think we're a good football team. I think we can be better."

The other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Bowl National Team of the Week nominee for the weekend of Oct. 8:

• UCLA (5-0): Maurice Drew scored five touchdowns, including a game-winning 28-yard reception with 1:35 left, as the Bruins won a 47-40 shootout with Cal.

The FWAA has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the first season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

The 16 pollsters of the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll decide the weekly honor. Each Monday during the 2005 college football season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Bowl National Team of the Week through Nov. 28.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll will be released each Monday afternoon from Oct. 10 through Dec. 5 and then following the BCS championship game in the Rose Bowl. The top-ranked team in the final poll will be awarded the Grantland Rice Trophy as the FWAA's national champion. The FWAA has awarded the trophy each season since 1954. USC is the two-time defending FWAA national champion and is ranked No. 1 in the initial 2005 poll.

Since 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and Tempe, Ariz., have hosted five games that have decided the college football national championship, including two Bowl Championship Series title games. The 2006 game will be played on Jan. 2 and will be the final game played at Sun Devil Stadium. The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, along with the BCS Championship Game, will move to the new Multi-Purpose Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., beginning in 2007.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

2005 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Teams of the Week
• Weekend of Sept. 3: TCU Horned Frogs
• Weekend of Sept. 10: LSU Tigers
• Weekend of Sept. 17: Michigan State Spartans
• Weekend of Sept. 24: South Florida Bulls
• Weekend of Oct. 1: Alabama Crimson Tide
• Weekend of Oct. 8: Penn State Nittany Lions
• Weekend of Oct. 15: USC Trojans
• Weekend of Oct. 22: Northwestern Wildcats
• Weekend of Oct. 29: South Carolina Gamecocks
• Weekend of Nov. 5: Miami Hurricanes
• Weekend of Nov. 12: South Carolina Gamecocks
• Weekend of Nov. 19: Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
• Weekend of Nov. 26: Nevada Wolf Pack
Andy Bagnato
Arizona Republic
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Curtis
College Sports TV
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Chad Hartley
Reno Gazette-Journal
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald