Sept. 3: TCU Sept. 10: LSU Sept. 17: Michigan State Sept. 24: South Florida Oct. 1: Alabama Oct. 8: Penn State Oct. 15: USC Oct. 22: Northwestern Oct. 29: South Carolina Nov. 5: Miami Nov. 12: South Carolina Nov. 19: Georgia Tech Nov. 26: Nevada
Football Writers Association of America Sept. 6, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Horned Frogs stun Oklahoma in season-opener
DALLAS (FWAA) With their 17-10 win over Oklahoma, the TCU Horned Frogs are the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, as selected by the pollsters of the FWAA's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll for games of the weekend of Sept. 3.

TCU recorded perhaps the program's biggest win since 1961, when the Horned Frogs topped then No. 1 Texas. The Horned Frogs held 2004 Heisman Trophy runner-up Adrian Peterson to 63 yards on 22 carries and Robert Merrill's 2-yard touchdown run snapped a 10-10 tie with 11:56 to play.

The Horned Frogs forced four turnovers, including a fumble that led to the winning score, and held Oklahoma to 225 total yards in handing Bob Stoops his first loss in the month of September in his Oklahoma tenure. Oklahoma had not lost a home opener since 1996, when TCU beat the Sooners in Norman. It was also just OU's second loss in its last 38 home games.

"I think that nine times out of 10, Oklahoma wins this game," TCU head coach Gary Patterson said. "Today was our one. We got a chance to show off on national TV and show America that TCU is not gone."

Other Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Sept. 3 included:

Clemson (1-0): Jad Dean booted six field goals, including the 42-yard game-winner at the gun as the Tigers nipped Texas A&M, 25-24.

Georgia Tech (1-0): On the road, the Yellow Jackets intercepted four passes in the second half in ending Auburn's 15-game winning streak, 23-14.

Notre Dame (1-0): Notre Dame scored on five of its first six possessions to win at Pittsburgh, 42-21, in head coach Charlie Weis' debut.

The FWAA has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the first season that the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

The 16 pollsters of the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll decide the weekly honor. Each Monday during the 2005 college football season, the FWAA will name the Tostitos Bowl National Team of the Week through Nov. 28.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll will resume this season on Oct. 10. The top-ranked team in the final poll will be awarded the Grantland Rice Trophy as the FWAA's national champion. The FWAA has awarded the trophy each season since 1954. USC is the two-time defending FWAA national champion and is ranked No. 1 in the initial 2005 poll.

Since 1971, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and Tempe, Ariz., have hosted five games that have decided the college football national championship, including two Bowl Championship Series title games. The 2006 game will be played on Jan. 2 and will be the final game played at Sun Devil Stadium. The Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, along with the BCS Championship Game, will move to the new Multi-Purpose Stadium in Glendale, Ariz., beginning in 2007.

For more information on the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

2005 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 3: TCU Horned Frogs
Weekend of Sept. 10: LSU Tigers
Weekend of Sept. 17: Michigan State Spartans
Weekend of Sept. 24: South Florida Bulls
Weekend of Oct. 1: Alabama Crimson Tide
Weekend of Oct. 8: Penn State Nittany Lions
Weekend of Oct. 15: USC Trojans
Weekend of Oct. 22: Northwestern Wildcats
Weekend of Oct. 29: South Carolina Gamecocks
Weekend of Nov. 5: Miami Hurricanes
Weekend of Nov. 12: South Carolina Gamecocks
Weekend of Nov. 19: Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
Weekend of Nov. 26: Nevada Wolf Pack
Andy Bagnato
Arizona Republic
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Curtis
College Sports TV
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Chad Hartley
Reno Gazette-Journal
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald