Football Writers Association of America Jan. 5, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
'Horns end USC's winning streak at 34 to claim 3rd FWAA national title

PASADENA, Calif. The Texas Longhorns (13-0) are the Football Writers Association of America's 2005 national champion after their dramatic 41-38 win over USC in the Rose Bowl. Texas coach Mack Brown was presented with the Grantland Rice Trophy by FWAA president Dennis Dodd at a news conference at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The Grantland
Rice Trophy

Texas finished atop the final Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, receiving all 16 first-place votes from the FWAA pollsters. The Longhorns were No. 2 in the poll heading into the Rose Bowl.

The Longhorns, now winners of 20 straight games, snapped USC's 34-game winning streak to claim their first FWAA national title since 1969 and their third overall (1963). USC had won each of the last two Grantland Rice Trophies and has won six overall FWAA national titles, most of any school. No team has ever won three straight FWAA national titles. The Trojans were the top-ranked team in each of the regular-season 2005 regular-season Super 16 polls.

"One thing about the young guys who wore burnt orange last night, they'll be champions for the rest of their lives," Texas head coach Mark Brown told an overflow crowd at the news conference. "So few people even get in the ballgame as coaches or players and even fewer obviously win it. So for these guys, we're really, really excited because it is about the players."

While Texas was the lone Big 12 school to finish in the final Super 16, the SEC boasted five schools among the final ranked teams as Florida moved into the poll. The Big Ten and Pac-10 each had three teams in the poll. No other conference had more than one.

Click here to see how and why each pollster voted

The complete final 2005 poll is as follows:

Rk. School [1st] Conference W-L Pts. Pvs. Bowl Result
1. Texas [16] Big 12 13-0 256 2 def. USC, 41-38
2. USC Pacific-10 12-1 240 1 lost to Texas, 41-38
3. Penn State Big Ten 11-1 223 3 def. Florida State, 26-23
4. Ohio State Big Ten 10-2 207 4 def. Notre Dame, 34-20
5. LSU Southeastern 11-2 182 t10 def. Miami, 40-3
6. West Virginia Big East 11-1 166 12 def. Georgia, 38-35
7. Virginia Tech Atlantic Coast 11-2 163 t10 def. Louisville, 35-24
8. Alabama Southeastern 10-2 128 13 def. Texas Tech, 13-10
9. Georgia Southeastern 10-3 102 7 lost to West Virginia, 38-35
10. Notre Dame Independent 9-3 95 5 lost to Ohio State, 34-20
11. TCU Mountain West 11-1 84 14 def. Iowa State, 27-24
12. Oregon Pacific-10 10-2 71 6 lost to Oklahoma, 17-14
13. Auburn Southeastern 9-3 53 8 lost to Wisconsin, 24-10
t14. Florida Southeastern 9-3 50 - def. Iowa, 31-24
t14. Wisconsin Big Ten 10-3 50 - def. Auburn, 24-10
16. UCLA Pacific-10 10-2 47 t15 def. Northwestern, 50-38
Also receiving votes: Miami (9-3) 19, Oklahoma (8-4), 15, Florida State (8-5) 10, Boston College (9-3) 8, Texas Tech (9-3) 7.
Dropped out: Miami (9), Louisville (t15)
By conference: SEC 5, Big Ten 3, Pac-10 3, ACC 1, Big East 1, Big 12 1, Mountain West 1, Independent 1.

The FWAA has presented the Grantland Rice Trophy, named in honor of the legendary sportswriter, to college football's national champion each year since 1954. When introduced, it was the first national championship trophy to be awarded after college football's postseason. This is the fourth season that a season-long poll has been concurrent with the award.

For more information on the Grantland Rice Trophy and the FWAA's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, go to

2005 Grantland Rice Super 16 Polls (No. 1 team)
Aug. 29 (USC)
Oct. 10 (USC)
Oct. 17 (USC)
Oct. 24 (USC)
Oct. 31 (USC)
Nov. 7 (USC)
Nov. 14 (USC)
Nov. 21 (USC)
Nov. 28 (USC)
Dec. 5 (USC)
Jan. 5 (Texas)

Andy Bagnato
Arizona Republic
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Curtis
College Sports TV
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Chad Hartley
Reno Gazette-Journal
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald