Football Writers Association of America Dec. 5, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Virginia Tech, LSU plummet with conference championship losses

DALLAS (FWAA) The Southern California Trojans have gone wire to wire as the top-ranked team in the regular season in the 2005 Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll. The Trojans, the two-time defending Football Writers Association of America national champions, began the season at No. 1 and have finished the regular season that way with a 12-0 record that runs their winning streak to 34 games. USC added a first-place vote after its 66-19 thrashing of UCLA this past Saturday.

The Grantland
Rice Trophy

Texas (12-0), equally impressive with a 70-3 rout of Colorado in the Big 12 title game, won its 19th straight game and, in turn, has also finished the regular season where it started, at No. 2 in the Super 16. The Longhorns held on the six first-place votes.

Texas and USC meet in the 2006 Rose Bowl, the BCS Championship Game.

Big Ten champion Penn State entrenched itself at No. 3, while Ohio State and Notre Dame moved up as the beneficiaries of conference championship losses by LSU and Virginia Tech. The Buckeyes are No. 4 and the Fighting Irish are ranked fifth in the final regular-season poll. Virginia Tech fell into a tie with LSU at No. 10 in the rankings.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, introduced prior to the 2002 season, ranks the nation's top 16 Division I-A football teams. A regionally-balanced group of 16 selectors votes in the poll. The pollsters also selected the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, which was announced each Monday this season.

In addition, the 16 voters representing four regions, have cast a ballot each week, while giving a synopsis of their ballot. Unlike other college football polls, the FWAA makes each of its pollster's ballots public, along with the weekly synopsis. At the conclusion of the Bowl Championship Series, the FWAA will release its final poll and the top-ranked team will be awarded the Grantland Rice Trophy, which USC has won a record six times.

Among seven conferences represented in this week's poll, the SEC has four teams among the Super 16. The Pacific-10 has three teams in the final regular-season poll.

Click here to see how and why each pollster voted

The complete final 2005 regular-season poll is as follows:

Rk. School [1st] Conference W-L Pts. Pvs. Next Game
1. USC [10] Pacific-10 12-0 250 1 1/4 vs. No. 2 Texas
2. Texas [6] Big 12 12-0 246 2 1/4 vs. No. 1 USC
3. Penn State Big Ten 10-1 222 3 1/3 vs. Florida State
4. Ohio State Big Ten 9-2 195 7 1/2 vs. No. 5 Notre Dame
5. Notre Dame Independent 9-2 180 6 1/2 vs. No. 4 Ohio State
6. Oregon Pacific-10 10-1 169 t8 12/29 vs. Oklahoma
7. Georgia Southeastern 10-2 154 11 1/2 vs. No. 12 West Virginia
8. Auburn Southeastern 9-2 141 t8 1/2 vs. Wisconsin
9. Miami Atlantic Coast 9-2 126 10 12/30 vs. No. 11 LSU
t10. LSU Southeastern 10-2 108 4 12/30 vs. No. 9 Miami
t10. Virginia Tech Atlantic Coast 10-2 108 5 1/2 vs. No 15 Louisville
12. West Virginia Big East 10-1 87 13 1/2 vs. No. 7 Georgia
13. Alabama Southeastern 9-2 58 14 1/2 vs. Texas Tech
14. TCU Mountain West 10-1 47 15 12/31 vs. Iowa State
t15. UCLA Pacific-10 9-2 15 12 12/30 vs. Northwestern
t15. Louisville Big East 9-2 15 - 1/2 vs. No. 10 Virginia Tech
First-place votes: USC 10 (Bagnato, Condotta, Curtis, Davis, Dodd, Greenstein, Hartley, Hayes, Koonz, Robbins); Texas 6 (Burchette, Coyle, Fiutak, Griffith, Higgins, Shain).
Also receiving votes: Florida State (8-4) 14, Michigan (7-4) 13, Florida (8-3) 12, Texas Tech (9-2) 11, Wisconsin (9-3) 2, Boston College (8-3) 2, Georgia Tech (7-4) 1.
Dropped out: Florida (16).
By conference: SEC 4, Pac-10 3, ACC 2, Big East 2, Big Ten 2, Big 12 1, Mountain West 1, Independent 1.

The FWAA has presented the Grantland Rice Trophy, named in honor of the legendary sportswriter, to college football's national champion each year since 1954. When introduced, it was the first national championship trophy to be awarded after college football's postseason. This is the fourth season that a season-long poll is concurrent with the award.

For further information contact Steve Richardson, Executive Director of the FWAA (972-713-6198, or Ted Gangi, FWAA webmaster (214-823-7992,

2005 Grantland Rice Super 16 Polls (No. 1 team)
Aug. 29 (USC)
Oct. 10 (USC)
Oct. 17 (USC)
Oct. 24 (USC)
Oct. 31 (USC)
Nov. 7 (USC)
Nov. 14 (USC)
Nov. 21 (USC)
Nov. 28 (USC)
Dec. 5 (USC)
Jan. 5 (Texas)

Andy Bagnato
Arizona Republic
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Curtis
College Sports TV
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Chad Hartley
Reno Gazette-Journal
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald