Football Writers Association of America Nov. 7, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Alabama, also unbeaten, rises to No. 3

DALLAS (FWAA) The Southern California Trojans remain the top-ranked team in the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll. USC (9-0), the two-time defending Football Writers Association of America national champs, received 11 of the 16 first-place votes after extending their winning streak to 31 games with a 51-21 win over Stanford. The USC win streak is the longest in the nation and the Trojans have won a record six FWAA national titles after winning each of the last two.

The Grantland
Rice Trophy

Texas (9-0), still No. 2 in the poll with five first-place votes, won its 16th straight game by routing Baylor, 62-0. Alabama (9-0) moved up to No. 3 after a hard-fought 17-0 win at Mississippi State. Losses by Virginia Tech (27-7 to Miami) and UCLA (52-17 to Arizona) shook up the poll this week. Miami moved up to No. 4 after stifling the Hokies and UCLA fell seven spots to No. 12 after being disposed of by the Wildcats. Penn State is now ranked fifth after an impressive 35-14 win over Wisconsin.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, introduced prior to the 2002 season, ranks the nation's top 16 Division I-A football teams. A regionally-balanced group of 16 selectors votes in the poll. The pollsters also select the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week, which is announced each Monday during the regular season.

In addition, the 16 voters representing four regions, have cast a ballot each week, while giving a synopsis of their ballot. Unlike other college football polls, the FWAA makes each of its pollster's ballot public, along with the weekly synopsis. At the conclusion of the Bowl Championship Series, the FWAA will release its final poll and the top-ranked team will be awarded the 2005 Grantland Rice Trophy.

Among six conferences represented in this week's poll, the SEC now features five teams among the Top 16. The Pacific-10 boasts three

Click here to see how and why each pollster voted

The complete poll for Nov. 7 is as follows:

Rk. School [1st] Conference W-L Pts. Pvs. Next Game
1. USC [11] Pacific-10 9-0 251 1 11/12 at California
2. Texas [5] Big 12 9-0 245 2 11/12 vs. Kansas
3. Alabama Southeastern 9-0 213 4 11/12 vs. No. 6 LSU
4. Miami Atlantic Coast 7-1 205 6 11/12 at Wake Forest
5. Penn State Big Ten 9-1 181 8 11/19 at Michigan State
6. LSU Southeastern 7-1 177 7 11/12 at No. 3. Alabama
t7. Notre Dame Independent 6-2 151 9 11/12 vs. Navy
t7. Virginia Tech Atlantic Coast 8-1 151 3 11/19 at Virginia
9. Georgia Southeastern 7-1 129 11 11/12 vs. No. 16 Auburn
10. Ohio State Big Ten 7-2 108 12 11/12 vs. Northwestern
11. Oregon Pacific-10 8-1 80 14 11/12 at Washington State
12. UCLA Pacific-10 8-1 56 5 11/12 vs. Arizona State
13. Florida Southeastern 7-2 53 15 11/12 at South Carolina
14. Texas Tech Big 12 8-1 49 - 11/12 at Oklahoma State
15. West Virginia Big East 7-1 46 16 11/9 at Cincinnati
16. Auburn Southeastern 7-2 37 - 11/12 at No. 9 Georgia
First-place votes: USC 11 (Bagnato, Condotta, Curtis, Davis, Dodd, Fiutak, Greenstein, Hartley, Hayes, Koonz, Robbins); Texas 5 (Burchette, Coyle, Griffith, Higgins, Shain).
Also receiving votes: Florida State (7-2) 27, Colorado (7-2) 7, TCU (9-1) 6, Freson State (7-1) 2, Michigan (6-3) 1, Wisconsin (8-2) 1.
Dropped out: Florida State (10), Wisconsin (13).
By conference: SEC 5, Pac-10 3, ACC 2, Big Ten 2, Big 12 2, Big East 1, Independent 1.

The FWAA has presented the Grantland Rice Trophy, named in honor of the legendary sportswriter, to college football's national champion each year since 1954. When introduced, it was the first national championship trophy to be awarded after college football's postseason. This is the fourth season that a season-long poll is concurrent with the award.

For further information contact Steve Richardson, Executive Director of the FWAA (972-713-6198, or Ted Gangi, FWAA webmaster (214-823-7992,

2005 Grantland Rice Super 16 Polls (No. 1 team)
Aug. 29 (USC)
Oct. 10 (USC)
Oct. 17 (USC)
Oct. 24 (USC)
Oct. 31 (USC)
Nov. 7 (USC)
Nov. 14 (USC)
Nov. 21 (USC)
Nov. 28 (USC)
Dec. 5 (USC)
Jan. 5 (Texas)

Andy Bagnato
Arizona Republic
Jordan Burchette
Maxim Online
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Frank Coyle
Brian Curtis
College Sports TV
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Teddy Greenstein
Chicago Tribune
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Chad Hartley
Reno Gazette-Journal
Matt Hayes
The Sporting News
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald