Football Writers Association of America Nov. 17, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
13th winner to be announced Dec. 5 in Charlotte

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) Five finalists for the 2005 Bronko Nagurski Trophy were announced on Thursday by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Vying for the honor of the best defensive football player in the country are Louisville senior end Elvis Dumervil (Miami, Fla.), Penn State senior end Tamba Hali (Teaneck, N.J.), Oregon junior tackle Haloti Ngata (Salt Lake City, Utah), Alabama senior linebacker DeMeco Ryans (Bessemer, Ala.) and Virginia Tech senior cornerback Jimmy Williams (Hampton, Va.).

The winner, the 13th to be so honored by the FWAA, will be announced on Dec. 5 and presented the Bronko Nagurski Trophy at a gala banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Notre Dame coach Charlie Weis will give the keynote address.


Nagurski, in his day, was a massive 6-2, 225-pound physical specimen who dominated college football at Minnesota as a bruising fullback and tackle from 1927-29. He could have been an All-American at any position playing 60 minutes as the best player wherever he lined up. In 1929, he was the first player to be selected as a consensus All-American in the same year at two different positions. Some even named him an All-American end.

Of the schools represented among the finalists, only Virginia Tech has had a previous Nagurski Trophy winner Corey Moore in 1999.

Dumervil and Hali are explosive rushers who have caused big problems for offensive lines and their quarterbacks this season. The 6-0, 256-pound Dumervil leads Division I-A in tackles for loss, sacks and forced fumbles through games of Nov. 12. The 6-3, 267-pound Hali has come on strong during the second half of the season and in 10 games has 54 tackles, 16 tackles for loss and 11 sacks.

Ngata, a gargantuan 6-5, 338-pound tackle, has been a major force since mid-season and was a one-man wrecking crew in the Ducks' win over of California. He's also a candidate to carry off the Outland Trophy, which the FWAA awards to the top interior lineman in college football.

The 6-2, 232-pound Ryans is the best player on an Alabama defense, which ranked third in the country against the rush going into games this week.

The 6-3, 216-pound Williams is considered perhaps the best defensive back in the Atlantic Coast Conference and a top NFL draft prospect next spring. The Hokies' pass defense ranks second nationally.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

For more information on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners
1993 Rob Waldorf, Arizona
1994 Warren Sapp, Miami
1995 Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
1996 Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
1997 Charles Woodson, Michigan
1998 Champ Bailey, Georgia
1999 Corey Moore, Virginia Tech
2000 Dan Morgan, Miami
2001 Roy Williams, Oklahoma
2002 Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
2003 Derrick Strait, Oklahoma
2004 Derrick Johnson, Texas